Pages of Pearl

Book Reviews, Book Recommendations, and Whatnots

REVIEW: The Selection by Kiera Cass

The Selectionok

 

five-stars

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

MY THOUGHTS…

So I disovered this book on an Instagram account of a celebrity that I’ve been following and I admit that I was really curious about it because of its attractive cover. And yeah, thank you Kim Chiu for introducing this book! 😀

Anyway, from the moment I first had a glimpse of its teaser, I already thought, ‘Wow, this is absolutely my kind of book!’. I always have a thing for fairy tales. You know– those sort of prince and princesses and happy endings and blah blah stories… Cheesy as it may sound but I really do like those things.

And this book– well, it provided me the story that I was really expecting. Kiera Cass has given me the fantasy that oh my God, there’s a perfect guy in the name of Maxon Shreave!

The Selection is the first installment of THE SELECTION series. The events happen in a Dystopian era and it simply highlights the main character, America Singer — an ordinary girl who belongs to the family under the “five” (a caste of lower level) and is apparently (as her family name implies) a singer. Enter the name Aspen Leger. He’s the guy (from a “six” caste) whom America gives her heart and dreams to. But when a notice came to her family, stating that the Prince of Ilea (Maxon Shreave) will be following his father’s steps and will hold a Selection (a reality TV-ish kind of thing) competition among suitable girls for the prince’s hand in marriage, America’s world turns upside down. She has no intention of joining the competition since she’s already in love with Aspen. Of course, in the end, she was forced to become one of the competitors and eventually met the (oh so irresistible) Prince Maxon and found that she’s completely torn between two guys who both seem to have a place in her heart. The conflicting part of this story, are of course, her confusion and decisions in the matters of the heart along with friendship issues with her fellow competitors.

As the story went on, I found myself fully entertained by its twist. I found America a clever character. Although the author stated that she’s not the girl who has a jaw-dropping, head-turner beauty like her fellow competitors, there’s something about this girl that really catches the heart of the country of Ilea– and the Prince’s attention, as well. She’s basically smart and funny and that makes the Prince become interested with her in the first place.

And Prince Maxon? Well, he is swoon-worthy! He’s a modest type of a person. Not like those typical, bastard-ish, sarcastic guys we sometimes meet on books. He’s gentle and caring and sweet and– ah, name all those good things. And he’s very patient when it comes to America. He knew from the start that she already has boyfriend somewhere in her town and that she has no desire to really be a part of the competition, and yet he was still longing that somehow, there’s a chance that she will consider to be really joining the Selection.

The series of events in this book is amazing. There’s action and there’s a lot of entertaining parts as well. As a whole, I became addicted. I wasn’t able to put it down and heck, I wanted someone like Prince Maxon! Where can I find someone like him? Lol. :’D All in all, it’s a great installment. I did read the second book immediately. Swear!

My Rating for this book: Whooping 5 stars! *clap clap!

Favorite Quotes

“True love is usually the most inconvenient kind.”

“America Singer, one day you will fall asleep in my arms every night. And you’ll wake up to my kisses every morning.”- Maxon

“If this were a simpler matter, I’d have eliminated everyone else by now.” – Maxon

signature

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “REVIEW: The Selection by Kiera Cass

  1. Pingback: Book Reviews | Bibliopearl

  2. Wow great review. I am definitely going to start reading this soon. Thanks for stopping by my site and telling me your views. 🙂

  3. This series is on my summer TBR ♡ glad to see another positive review

Leave a Reply

