Pages of Pearl

Book Reviews, Book Recommendations, and Whatnots

REVIEW: The Elite by Kiera Cass

The Elite

ok

fourstars

The hotly-anticipated sequel to the New York Times bestseller The Selection.

Thirty-five girls came to the palace to compete in the Selection. All but six have been sent home. And only one will get to marry Prince Maxon and be crowned princess of Illea.

America still isn’t sure where her heart lies. When she’s with Maxon, she’s swept up in their new and breathless romance, and can’t dream of being with anyone else. But whenever she sees Aspen standing guard around the palace, and is overcome with memories of the life they planned to share. With the group narrowed down to the Elite, the other girls are even more determined to win Maxon over—and time is running out for America to decide.

Just when America is sure she’s made her choice, a devastating loss makes her question everything again. And while she’s struggling to imagine her future, the violent rebels that are determined to overthrow the monarchy are growing stronger and their plans could destroy her chance at any kind of happy ending.

MY THOUGHTS…

Firstly, The Elite book has a lot of potentials, especially since I immediately grabbed it right after reading its first sequel, The Selection. I rated it 4 stars out of five because it did give me excitement in a lot of reasons, somehow. But, in my opinion, this story did not live up to its predecessor. I found myself more smitten with the first one. However, I surprisingly finished it because, who can just let this series go without finding out how the story goes and ends?

From 35 girls competing for the crown and for the Prince’s hand, they eventually narrowed down to six. Imagine how far our heroine America Singer has gotten all throughout the first book! This time around, she no longer denies her feelings to the Prince, yet there’s still Aspen– the guy who broke her heart in the first book but is now chasing her heart once again (Are you kidding me?). She’s trapped and confused all throughout the book. I don’t know if I’d be happy with this but in a way, the love triangle thing kind of adds flavor to the story. But I don’t know, I feel being tortured on some parts of this book. It sucks.

The Book Is…

Pros

Romantic, addictive, action-packed, and interesting with so many dramas and dark secrets that will intrigue you up to the very end. You won’t be able to put it down, I tell you.

Cons

Slow-paced, and there are repetitive scenes that are kind of annoying sometimes. But they’re tolerable, though.

What I Think About the Characters

America

This girl, as we first encounter on the 1st book, is stubborn and headstrong. She’s independent and she makes serious decisions that are intended for the good of her family. But sometimes she’s annoying, too. In matters of the heart, I don’t understand why she continues to confuse herself between the two guys, when obviously, Maxon has the edge. (Understand that? Duh!) But on the positive side, she’s a unique type of girl. She can be intimidating at times, but you will love her at the same time.

Maxon

Well, what can I say? This guy is everyone’s dream guy! *hands down. The perfect, handsome, gentleman, passionate Prince charming name-it-all type of guy that we can only encounter in a book. Period. But in this book, I was sort of upset with this hero. Especially when (*spoiler’s alert) he flirted with one of America’s competitors. Disappointed here. 😦 Perhaps it’s the main reason why this book only earned 4 stars from me. Lol.

Aspen

All right, I don’t like him. At all. I’m a Team Maxon from the very beginning, so I’m sorry, Aspen. You’re just not the right guy for America.

Favorite Quotes

“It turns out I’m absolutely terrible at staying away from you. It’s a very serious problem.” – Maxon

“Sometimes I feel like we’re a knot, too tangled to be taken apart.”

“America, there’s no question that you’ve had my heart from the beginning. By now you have to know that.”

signature

 

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “REVIEW: The Elite by Kiera Cass

  1. Pingback: Book Reviews | Bibliopearl

Leave a Reply

