REVIEW: The One by Kiera Cass

The Oneok

 

fourstars

THE SELECTION changed the lives of thirty-five girls forever. Now, only one will claim Prince Maxon’s heart…

It’s swoon meets the Hunger Games in the final installment of THE SELECTION trilogy!

For the four girls who remain at the palace, the friendships they’ve formed, rivalries they’ve struggled with and dangers they’ve faced have bound them to each other for the rest of their lives.

Now, the time has come for one winner to be chosen.

America never dreamed she would find herself anywhere close to the crown – or to Prince Maxon’s heart. But as the competition approaches its end and the threats outside the palace walls grow more vicious, America realises just how much she stands to lose – and how hard she’ll have to fight for the future she wants.


The breathtaking finale to THE SELECTION trilogy will make you swoon!

MY THOUGHTS

First off, I’m so proud that I’ve completed this series! 🙂 I thoroughly enjoyed this third and final book of The Selection. Finally the competition for the crown and the Prince’s heart came to a conclusion. But just like how I expected, the ending was really predictable. In this book, I found some answers to my questions, but ugh, was never enough! Is it just me or the story seems a bit rushed? I have to admit that I wasn’t really satisfied with its flow. The only consolation I got was its fairy tale happy ending which was (as expected), predictable.

On the lighter side, I appreciated how Maxon exerted effort just to prove his feelings for America. Many times in this book, the hero was always the one who was chasing the heroine. Honesty, it took me forever to get those scenes into. Meanwhile, I was also looking for a bit of thrill during the final chapters. Yes, there were quivering moments, but not the ones I was really expecting. This book has flaws, but of course, it was actually a rather satisfying finale. So, I gave this four stars out of five. Congrats, Kiera Cass for such a wonderful series! More to come! 🙂

The Book is…

Pros

Entirely dramatic. There were cute and sweet moments that you can’t easily get over. (*Spoiler’s Alert) Maxon’s love letter to America is seriously heart-tugging!

Cons

Slow-paced at the beginning, how the characters act was a bit exasperating at times, and the story was apparently rushed. (I don’t know why Kiera has to do that.) 😦

What I Think About the Characters

America

In this book, America proved to be worthy of my admiration. She was learning from her mistakes. It’s just that, it was almost too late for her to realize what she wants or rather, who she wants. But all in all, I thought she really deserved the great things that happened to her in the ending.

Maxon

This book continued to remind me that Maxon really had the thing for America since the very beginning. Gah! I will never get enough of him!

Favorite Quotes

“Break my heart. Break it a thousand times if you like. It was only ever yours to break anyway.” – Maxon

“The best people all have some kind of scar.”

“This isn’t happily ever after. It’s so much more than that.”  
signature
One thought on “REVIEW: The One by Kiera Cass

Leave a Reply

