Pages of Pearl

Book Reviews, Book Recommendations, and Whatnots

REVIEW: The Surgeon by Tess Gerritsen

The Surgeon ok

threestars

 

In Boston, there’s a killer on the loose. A killer who targets lone women, who breaks into their apartments and performs terrifying ritualistic acts of torture on them before finishing them off. His surgical skills lead police to suspect he is a physician – a physician who, instead of saving lives, takes them.

But as homicide detective Thomas Moore and his partner Jane Rizzoli begin their investigation, they make a startling discovery. Closely linked to these killings is Catherine Cordell, a beautiful medic with a mysterious past. Two years ago she was subjected to a horrifying rape and attempted murder but she shot her attacker dead. Now she is being targeted by the new killer who seems to know all about her past, her work, and where she lives.

The man she believes she killed seems to be stalking her once again, and this time he knows exactly where to find her…

MY THOUGHTS…

I was never a fan of thriller and suspense genre books, but because a co-worker of mine lent me this book simply because she wants to share its story, I read it out of obligation. Lol. However, there was a part of me which became curious because of the fact that the story is medically-based and yeah, I thought I can relate.

The story involves a rape victim named Catherine Cordell who happened to be a physician. She had an awfully horrible past I couldn’t even imagine which had something to do with a serial killer who violated her and even attempted to take away her– ugh, uterus (womb). Sounds strange? For me, it’s creepy! And a little unnerving. How can somebody take away anyone’s intimate organ? Gross. But the book explained it later. It was because the serial killer hated women, and to satisfy his desire to destroy women, he needed to remove something that proves them their femininity.

“He identifies and removes only the organ he wants. Nothing more. And what he wants is the womb.”

I don’t know but I find this story a bit disturbing. Somehow I managed to finish it (thank God!). Perhaps the only thing that kept me from reading it is the medical involvement in the story. I admit I was curious as of how these detectives do their job when it comes to medical crime investigation. It was pretty cool and very detailed. That’s what makes me get along with it until the very end. But the storyline? Nope. Not even by the way the author particularly incorporated a bit of romance between Catherine and homicide detective Thomas Moore. It wasn’t convincing, and that’s also a problem. What’s worse, (*Spoiler’s Alert) Thomas was not even able to personally save Catherine right on the climax part– when she needed him. It was Rizzoli who’s there. Well. *sigh

Overall the book was entertaining. There was action but not what I was really expecting. It was a good suspense/thriller story. It’s just that this book didn’t get me. However, if you guys want to just read something that connects well with the medical world, it wouldn’t be bad to spare a little bit of your time with this book. 🙂 It’s still a recommended one.

The Book Is…

Pros

Action-packed. The settings, especially the medical and crime labs, are well-detailed.

Con

I find the plot not appealing. There are foul scenes which might not also work for you.

What I Think About the Characters

Catherine Cordell

She’s a physician. Confident and very composed, but deep down inside she’s not self-assured– which is understandable because of her traumatic past. Yet often times she annoys me. There was a time when she blamed herself and every woman for being raped. Wait, what?

Thomas Moore

I think he’s a competent detective, and smart. But there are times when I think he’s not acting reasonably. I also find him– useless. I mean, he wasn’t even there to protect Catherine especially (*Spoiler’s Alert) during the final chapters. 😦

My Rating for this book: 3 Stars. (It’s a great book, but lacks some factors which would’ve gotten more stars.)

Favorite Quotes from this Book

“The most intimate feeling people can share is neither love nor hate, but pain.”

“We never know until the beast of opportunity is staring us in the face.”

signature

 

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “REVIEW: The Surgeon by Tess Gerritsen

  1. Pingback: Book Reviews | Bibliopearl

Leave a Reply

