Pages of Pearl

Book Reviews, Book Recommendations, and Whatnots

REVIEW: Dear John by Nicholas Sparks

Dear Johnok

five-stars

An angry rebel, John dropped out of school and enlisted in the Army, not knowing what else to do with his life–until he meets the girl of his dreams, Savannah. Their mutual attraction quickly grows into the kind of love that leaves Savannah waiting for John to finish his tour of duty, and John wanting to settle down with the woman who has captured his heart.

But 9/11 changes everything. John feels it is his duty to re-enlist. And sadly, the long separation finds Savannah falling in love with someone else.

Dear John, the letter read… and with those two words, a heart was broken and two lives were changed forever. Returning home, John must come to grips with the fact that Savannah, now married, is still his true love—and face the hardest decision of his life.

MY THOUGHTS…

Well hello there, Nicholas Sparks! I can now finally make a review for your book after what, three? Four years? This is actually my first ever Nicholas Sparks read. I have grabbed and read this book in 2010 and I can still remember how it made me feel, and here I am, about to be reminded again of how my heart has been shattered four years ago and how I was such an emotional mess after finishing it.

Dear John is a story that talks about John Tyree, the guy who grew up in a single parent home in Wilmington, North Carolina. He was raised by his father who had a problem with his growth and development, and who was so fond of collecting coins. As he grew, John was not entirely enthusiastic with life. Knowing he could make a difference if he joins the US army, he applied for it and was able to successfully land a promising career in the military. But when he met the beautiful and vibrant Savannah Lynn Curtis, of course, his life changed and confusions about his career and love life quickly developed. While he chose his calling, he left Savannah behind though their relationship continued in a form of “love letters”. At first their communication was great. There was consistency and I really thought and hoped that their LDR thing will survive. Of course, it didn’t happen as (*Spoiler’s alert) Savannah fell in love with her friend, Tim. And there, the drama began… And so was my heart being broken.

This story is quite remarkable. The fact that it’s far more real made it become sensational. It’s reality-based. What happened in this book also happens in real life.

It’s just that… 😦 I knew everyone doesn’t always have a happy ending love story –but ugh, this one’s just too heart-shattering. It took me a while to compose myself after reading this.

But surprisingly, although Nicholas Sparks didn’t provide the happy ending the characters at least deserved, he totally earned my respect. He’s the kind of author who gives straight forward plot with a blend of Christian theme– very impressive. And hey, did I tell you that men’s POV is rather different and emotionally driven? This book proves it. Overall, the book is entirely great. It’s compelling, you will really find yourself fully engaged up to its very end.

The Book Is…

Pros

Realistic, emotional, captivating, and well-written. The characters are also remarkable and very well defined.

Con

The ending will really rip your heart apart. You might cry in spite of yourself.

What I think about the Characters

John Tyree

I love this character. He makes me admire the bravery and heroic acts of the military men — sacrificing emotions for the sake of their dedication for the country and fellow countrymen.

Savannah Lynn Curtis

I admire how Savannah held on to their relationship in spite of the distance and how she actually tried to make an effort to make their relationship work. But in the end, I wish she pushed more. I mean, I know it was difficult, but she could’ve extended more of her patience and waited for him– if she truly loved him. But well, who am I to judge? Lol.

My rating for this book: 5 well-deserved stars! 🙂

(I also watched its movie adaptation. But, of course! How could I miss Channing Tatum on big screen? That wouldn’t happen! *laughs. For me though, I prefer the book’s sequence and emotional approach rather than the film’s. 🙂

Favorite Quotes from this Book

“I finally understood what true love meant…love meant that you care for another person’s happiness more than your own, no matter how painful the choices you face might be.”

“When you’re struggling with something, look at all the people around you and realize that every single person you see is struggling with something, and to them, it’s just as hard as what you’re going through.”

“Our story has three parts: a beginning, a middle, and an end. And although this is the way all stories unfold, I still can’t believe that ours didn’t go on forever.”

signature

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “REVIEW: Dear John by Nicholas Sparks

  1. Pingback: Book Reviews | Bibliopearl

  2. One of my faves! this book us really staying on the top 5 list of all the good books that ive ever read no matter how heart shattering the ending, it ws so real to me!

    • True! I guess most of Nicholas’ novels are with sad endings. But I love it. It’s a sensible novel. Thanks by the way for dropping by. 🙂 I’ve checked your blog and it’s cool!

Leave a Reply

