REVIEW: Almost Heaven by Judith McNaught

Almost Heaven (Sequels, #3)

almost

five-stars

In this classic novel of two willful lovers caught in a breathless adventure of deception and betrayal, #1 New York Times bestselling author Judith McNaught has created a powerful and unforgettable masterpiece.

ELIZABETH CAMERON

The Countess of Havenhurst possessed a rare gentleness and fierce courage to match her exquisite beauty. But her reputation is shattered when she is discovered in the arms of Ian Thornton, a notorious gambler and social outcast.

IAN THORNTON

A dangerously handsome man of secret wealth and mysterious lineage, his voyage to Elizabeth’s heart is fraught with intrigue, scandal, and a venomous revenge.

Destined for each other, yet wary of each other’s motives, Elizabeth and Ian engage in a dance of suspicion and passion that tests the very soul of their star-crossed love. As a twisting path of secrets takes them from London’s drawing rooms to the mysterious Scottish Highlands, Elizabeth must learn the truth: is Ian merely a ruthless fortune hunter at heart?

MY THOUGHTS…

Okay, I know it’s a bit late to write a review for this book, but since this is one of my favorite books up to date, I thought I’d share how I felt about this wonderful tale and how it made me think about a perfect, true love.

For me, this book is McNaught’s ultimate masterpiece next to Whitney, My Love. I’m glad it’s the first historical romance book that I’ve read since I found it really unforgettable. This book has everything. It has an A-factor storyline. It’s classy. It’s bewitching and truly a book that historical romance lovers can’t dare to put down.

“Look, Elizabeth, isn’t he divine in a sort of mysterious, wicked way?”

The characters here are remarkable. Ian Thornton, the unacknowledged son of a Duke, met Lady Elizabeth Cameron few years ago at a London ball. Their first meeting was a whirlwind romance. Unfortunately, it didn’t end well but instead, their ‘affair’ turned into a memory both of them didn’t want to remember at all. After few years, fate led them back together but this time, Elizabeth needed him for marriage. And so their romantic past was eventually rekindled in some sort of wicked way.

I know it’s a typical romance plot, but how can I ever explain how wonderful their dialogues were? The witty banter, the undeniable chemistry both characters exude, and the romantic twist Judith is famous for. And of course, the way McNaught makes you feel as though she’s taking you on a roller coaster ride of emotions. All of these are what everyone will expect from this book.

The Book Is…

Pros

Extremely romantic. A fascinating and compelling read, with beautiful settings that are well-defined.

Con

It has events that will make you feel anxious and heart-broken at the same time.

What I Think about the Characters

Elizabeth Cameron

I love this character. She possesses a rare gentleness which Ian fell in love with. I also love how McNaught defined her physical features. I can imagine that she’s really beautiful inside and out.

Ian Thornton

He appears to be a dangerously handsome man. I also admire how he became wealthy not because he is the son of a Duke but because he attained it on his own. He’s also a guy every woman dreams of.

My Rating for this book: 5 Stars (It’s worth re-reading!)

Favorite Quote from this Book

“Why did happy memories fade and blur until one could scarcely recall them at all, while horrible memories seemed to retain their blinding clarity and painful sharpness?”

signature

7 thoughts on “REVIEW: Almost Heaven by Judith McNaught

  1. OMG I LOOOOOOOVE this book like crazy !!!!!!!! 😀 I think I’ve read it like 3 times already and I still can’t get enough of it. It’s my absolute BEST Judith McnNaught historical then Whitney, My Love 🙂

    Like

      • I know right !!!!! I loved how Elizabeth didn’t cower to Ian’s authority and I loved his dominant stance also. *sigh* I really hate that Judith McNaught doesn’t have new books 😦 I’ve literally read ALL her books and even the contemporaries ROCK. Paradise and Perfect were just divine !!!!!!!! 😀

        Like

  2. Such a great book! This series, this historical romance period in general by Judith McNaught is amazing! I think I reread Whitney, My Love and Something Wonderful all the time. This one is one of my favorites also.

    Like

      • I know! When I first stumble across her books I would look for the next one and when I got through them all I would check Goodreads for info about a new book by her but none ever came 😦

        Like

Leave a Reply

