REVIEW: Queen of Someday by Sherry D. Ficklin

Queen of Someday (Stolen Empire, #1)Queen of Someday

fourstars

ONE GIRL WILL BRING AN EMPIRE TO ITS KNEES…

Before she can become the greatest empress in history, fifteen-year-old Sophie will have to survive her social-climbing mother’s quest to put her on the throne of Russia—at any cost.

Imperial Court holds dangers like nothing Sophie has ever faced before. In the heart of St. Petersburg, surviving means navigating the political, romantic, and religious demands of the bitter Empress Elizabeth and her handsome, but sadistic nephew, Peter. Determined to save her impoverished family—and herself—Sophie vows to do whatever is necessary to thrive in her new surroundings. But an attempt on her life and an unexpected attraction threatens to derail her plans.

Alone in a new and dangerous world, learning who to trust and who to charm may mean the difference between becoming queen and being sent home in shame to marry her lecherous uncle. With traitors and murderers lurking around every corner, her very life hangs in the balance. Betrothed to one man but falling in love with another, Sophie will need to decide how much she’s willing to sacrifice in order to become the empress she is destined to be.

In a battle for the soul of a nation, will love or destiny reign supreme?

MY THOUGHTS…

I received an ARC of this book free from the author and netgalley in exchange for an honest review. First, I was really smitten by the book’s cover. Isn’t it so stunning?

I was even surprised to find out that the book does not only tell a typical, plain story but it outlines the life of the Russian leader Catherine the Great. Honestly my knowledge about history is so poor so I paused reading it for a while and review the background of Catherine the Great so as to have a better idea about the main character. Then I returned to reading and found it even more interesting.

I have to admit that the book is utterly brilliant. Ms. Sherry D. Ficklin has the wit to write down solid descriptions of the characters and put extra charm to them.

I love Sophia (Catherine the Great). This woman is true to her name. She’s great in every sense of a word. I admire her courage and intelligence. She’s a headstrong character who makes striking and great decisions and she has the inner power that will make women really proud. I also love her selflessness and the way she prioritizes her family rather than her own happiness. I just felt awed by the fact that she craves the feeling of being loved.

“Is it so wrong to dream of romance and tenderness? Of love?”

I also admire Alexander. I am so thankful for his existence in this book. He’s the character that’s too perfect to describe.

“There are many beautiful and wonderful things to see at court.”

“Like what?” I ask playfully.

He looks right into my eye and smiles. “Well, there’s you for one.”

“Are you flirting with me?”

Sergei. I can’t decide if he’s better than Alexander or the other way around. All I know is, he’s equally admirable.

“Be careful Princess. When waging a war of the heart, you must only fight if you are absolutely sure you can win.”

The plot is also impressive. I was honestly taken aback especially in the last remaining chapters. Goodness, that was such a twist!

As a whole, I didn’t regret reading this book. I enjoyed it and learned a lot about history, too so it’s like killing two birds with one stone. The greatest thing I also liked about this book is the profound messages of the story beyond what are written. It teaches you something about life and it simply gives you the encouragement to live and accept life’s challenges with bravery. One thing I also learned after reading it is to never trust anyone so easily.

And yes, the essence of love above all things. This book very well accentuates the true meaning of love.

No matter how many romantic poems you recite, no matter how many glorious tales of love you read, how can you really understand the condition if you’ve never found yourself in it?

My Rating for the Book: 4 Stars (For those who love historical fiction with a touch of drama, romance, and intrigue, this story will not disappoint you.) 🙂

signature

Leave a Reply

