REVIEW: City of Glass by Cassandra Clare

City of GlassCity of Glass

five-stars

To save her mother’s life, Clary must travel to the City of Glass, the ancestral home of the Shadowhunters – never mind that entering the city without permission is against the Law, and breaking the Law could mean death. To make things worse, she learns that Jace does not want her there, and Simon has been thrown in prison by the Shadowhunters, who are deeply suspicious of a vampire who can withstand sunlight.

As Clary uncovers more about her family’s past, she finds an ally in mysterious Shadowhunter Sebastian. With Valentine mustering the full force of his power to destroy all Shadowhunters forever, their only chance to defeat him is to fight alongside their eternal enemies. But can Downworlders and Shadowhunters put aside their hatred to work together? While Jace realizes exactly how much he’s willing to risk for Clary, can she harness her newfound powers to help save the Glass City – whatever the cost?

Love is a mortal sin and the secrets of the past prove deadly as Clary and Jace face down Valentine in the third installment of the New York Times bestselling series The Mortal Instruments.

MY THOUGHTS…

(Possible spoilers ahead…) 🙂

I didn’t really expect it, but this book, so far, is my favorite installment. City of Glass is different, just totally different compared to City of Bones and City of Ashes. I love this book because it has everything that I was really expecting right from the beginning.

I could literally hug Cassandra Clare! She never fails to amaze me more this time. During the first chapters, I was like, wow! There’s already some action going on here!

The plot is too great and flawless. I love the numerous POVs. It didn’t confuse me. It’s actually entertaining. I also realize that this book is so important since there are lots of revelations here, especially those past events. Honestly, I was surprised. I didn’t expect to discover such shocking histories. The twist, on the other hand, is unpredictable and the characters’ development is too apparent and remarkable.

This whole book is also a baffling wave of puzzle. I kept guessing all the time. And the settings— oh my God. I already love Alicante! I love how Cassandra made such a beautiful portrait of the City of Glass. The lake, the beautiful manors and houses– everything in the place is entirely captivating!

“You have never seen a city until you have seen Alicante of the glass towers.”

What I also love here is Jace and Clary’s relationship progress. I love how Jace became bold and expressive and protective to Clary. Omg, like he’s too perfect! And Clary– well, she’s still the annoying girl. The usual, impulsive girl who doesn’t seriously think before making decisions and acting audacious things that will put her to danger. Thankfully, there are guys who are always there to the rescue. Luke, Jace, Simon, Magnus… Ok. She’s lucky. But of course, it couldn’t be denied that Clary’s character really developed here. I love how she becomes braver and how she discovers the things that she can actually do.

Meanwhile, I also love Magnus and Alec. I’ve grown to love these two characters to be honest. And I didn’t even expect to find myself shipping them! Honestly, it’s my first time to encounter gay couple in a book and I didn’t expect it to be sort of cute! ❤

Aline. This new character irritated me from the start. I hate the fact that Jace actually flirted with her. For me, she’s the least likable character here. Sebastian? Well, I’ve already predicted his role here in this book the moment he was introduced. The thing that I didn’t expect, however, is how he turned out to be a such major surprise.

Amatis Herondale. This woman is brave. I love her character and I love how she manages to live her life despite her painful past.

Jocelyn and Luke. I JUST LOVE THEM TOGETHER! They’re too perfect for each other. I didn’t really have a thing for oldies pairing in a book but darn, I really find them sweet– especially at the last chapter. Whoa!

The ending is really, really perfect! If I hadn’t known that there are still three remaining books waiting, I’ve already concluded that the City of Glass’ ending is highly satisfying. But of course, I know there’s still a lot of things waiting so I guess must sit back and watch.

As a whole, I really enjoyed the book. No questions, but it’s absolutely better than the last two books. It had my attention in full blast. I kept me turning pages and I didn’t even want to stop. The action scenes are also exhilarating you can really imagine the picture as how the war between demons and Shadownhunters-Downworlders appears.

Cassandra Clare, you’re so amazing!

My Rating for this book: 5 Stars (5 stars, or more, actually). 🙂

Favorite Quotes/Lines from this Book

“I’d rather have you in my life even as a brother than not at all.” – Clary

“I don’t regret dating you. I’m glad we tried. And I love you for trying, even if it was never going to work. I wouldn’t give up loving you. Not for anything. You know what Raphael told me? That I didn’t know how to be a good vampire; that true vampires accept that they’re dead. But as long as long as what it was like to love you, I’ll always feel like I’m alive.” – Simon

signature

5 thoughts on “REVIEW: City of Glass by Cassandra Clare

    • I know right?! This book has lots of entertaining factors and funny moments, too. Haven’t started the 4th book yet. Is it good? I was kind of dismayed after reading the City of Fallen Angels blurb. I think it’s kind of heartbreaking. I don’t have the strength to read it yet. I want to stuck myself up with the happy ending of CoG yet. Hehe

      Like

  1. I absolutely agree with what yove written here- I got sucked into the Mortal Instruments series from the first book, then promptly went on to the Infernal Devices trilogy which, in a different way were easily as good if not better. It’s been a long time since I was drawn so completely into a fictional world. Great review 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

