Pages of Pearl

Book Reviews, Book Recommendations, and Whatnots

Review: The Irresistible Miss Peppiwell by Stacy Reid

The Irresistible Miss Peppiwell

The Irresistible Miss Peppiwell
(Scandalous House of Calydon #2)
Author: Stacy Reid
Publisher: Entangled Publishing
Expected Publication: August 11, 2014
Genre: Historical Romance, Romance, Erotica
My Rating:

five-stars

With a longing for adventure, the last thing Phillipa Pippiwell wants is to marry. After a painful betrayal by a man she trusted, she is wary when she unwittingly catches the attention of roguishly handsome – and sinfully tempting – Lord Anthony Thornton. Forbidden desires she secretly yearns for threaten to crumble her icy facade and reveal a past scandal best kept buried.

Dissatisfied with his empty life, Lord Anthony seeks a deep and lasting connection… and finds himself intrigued by the Ice Maiden of the haute monde. Undaunted by Phillipa’s aloof nature and her distaste for the idea of matrimony, he sets out to thaw the bewitching beauty by enticing her with adventures of the most sensual type. But he, too, hides a scandalous secret… and if it’s discovered it could rip them apart.

MY THOUGHTS…

I received an ARC of this book free from the author and netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Oh my… It’s been a while since I’ve read historical romance. This one’s a real treat, so thank you Miss Stacy Reid for the ARC!

First of all, I’d like to say that this book has a beautiful cover! Whoa, look at that. The girl is so lovely. She’s exactly what I’ve imagined of Phillipa. 🙂

This book, by the way, comes in a very passionate tale… and it’s one with a scorching hot romantic plot! The story is all about two characters who developed a beyond-ordinary love right after their fateful encounter in London. Anthony Thornton, a deliciously hot member of the ton, instantly fell for the irresistible Miss Phillipa Peppiwell in a certain ball. Phillipa, on the other hand, is an American lady who doesn’t agree with London’s social viewpoints. She has a very intriguing scandalous past which made her feel hesitant to accept Anthony’s proposal to her. From the very beginning, the attraction and the sexual tension between these two characters are already apparent so it’s not that hard for me to connect well with these characters.

By all rights, he should be concentrating on the stunning widow Lady Galveston, who had been throwing him sultry looks since his arrival, but he had to admit the slender redhead with her cold, golden eyes interested him far more.

What I love about this novel is the undeniable chemistry between Anthony and Phillipa. I love their match and I knew right then that they’re perfect for each other! Although they first thought that their feelings for each other is mainly a lust, the way they interact and spend time together is evidently more than that.

I love Anthony Thornton, I already consider him as one of my favorite historical book characters! He’s bold enough to express his feelings and he doesn’t even hesitate to accept the fact that he’s in love. He doesn’t annoy me at all.

Phillipa, on the other hand, is a bit annoying especially during the first few chapters, but thankfully her character eventually improved so my annoyance with her didn’t really grow that much. 🙂

The scenes are unpredictable, and that’s how I admire the author. It’s also well-written. It basically paints a picture of the earlier London scene– how London society reacts to gossips, scandals, and anything unusual. It also speaks about the importance of politics over love when it comes to choosing someone you marry. Well, I’m glad I wasn’t born in this era. Lol. :’D

One thing I noticed about this book, though. It reminds me of Lisa Kleypas’ novels. There are a lot of similarities when it comes to the plot. And I’m glad however because I love Lisa Kleypas and I want to read historical novels that are similar with her writings and plots. And this one really satisfies me. 🙂

Also, I love the dual POVs here. All stories should be like this! 🙂

Kudos for a very beautiful story, Miss Stacy Reid!

My Rating for this Book: 5 Stars 🙂 (For those of you who loves historical romance with a taste of sexy and passionate scenes and with a satisfying ending, consider reading this. 🙂 It’s worth a read!)

signature

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Review: The Irresistible Miss Peppiwell by Stacy Reid

  1. Pingback: REVIEW: The Duke’s Shotgun Wedding by Stacy Reid |

Leave a Reply

