REVIEW: The Duke’s Shotgun Wedding by Stacy Reid

The Duke's Shotgun Wedding

The Duke’s Shotgun Wedding
(Scandalous House of Calydon #1)
Author: Stacy Reid
Publisher: Entangled: Scandalous
Published: April 14, 2014
Genre: Romance, Historical Romance
My Rating:

five-stars

Victorian Era England…
As far as rash decisions go, it was formidable. But Lady Jocelyn Rathbourne’s will remains strong. If the only way to save her family’s estate and reputation is by aiming a small pistol at the Duke of Calydon, then so be it. For Lady Jocelyn demands satisfaction – and she will have it at any cost. Even if it means demanding the hand of the intense and foreboding Duke himself… But she’s made the first move against a very dangerous opponent… For Sebastian Thornton is no stripling to be trifled with. The lady has played her hand. Now it’s his turn. For Sebastian is in need of a wife. And to find a wife with spirit and fire – even if she means to only marry for his money – would be a great prize indeed. And he intends to thoroughly take his pleasure with her… and demands his own satisfaction in return.

MY THOUGHTS…

“You came into my life and completely turned it upside down, when all I wanted was a biddable wife to give me an heir.”

I’ve read The Irresistible Miss Peppiwell by Stacy Reid and it really fascinated me in a heartbeat so I didn’t hesitate to grab The Duke’s Shotgun Wedding and have it a go. And again, Stacy Reid did not fail. I absolutely love this novella!

It’s fast-paced and really compelling. I love how the main characters interact especially how their connection became deeper every second. I thought Sebastian and Jocelyn’s love story is worth extending, I just wished Stacy made it a bit longer because I so want to read mooooore of them together! I think their romantic quest is too short-lived and it leaves me craving for more, more, and more.

However, I rated it 5 stars because the plot is absolutely perfect. I could not find any flaws in this book. It’s romantic, and not in a boring and cliche way. The characters also did not annoy me at all. And the ending is brilliant! *sigh*

signature

Leave a Reply

