REVIEW: Dark Lover by J.R. Ward

Dark Lover (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #1)

Dark Lover
(Black Dagger Brotherhood #1)
Author: J.R. Ward
Publisher: Signet
Published: September 1, 2005
Genre: Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance, Contemporary, Erotica
My Rating:

fourstars

In the shadows of the night in Caldwell, New York, there’s a deadly turf war going on between vampires and their slayers. There exists a secret band of brothers like no other-six vampire warriors, defenders of their race. Yet none of them relishes killing more than Wrath, the leader of The Black Dagger Brotherhood.

The only purebred vampire left on earth, Wrath has a score to settle with the slayers who murdered his parents centuries ago. But, when one of his most trusted fighters is killed-leaving his half-breed daughter unaware of his existence or her fate-Wrath must usher her into the world of the undead-a world of sensuality beyond her wildest dreams.

MY THOUGHTS…

“You don’t know this yet, but you’re mine.”

I’ve always been fascinated with vampire books, that’s why I didn’t think twice when a friend of mine introduced this to me. The moment I read its brief synopsis, I admit it didn’t leave my mind. Well, as expected, I was seriously hooked with this one helluvah book! And yes, what I expected was what I got.

Dark Lover is the first installment of Black Dagger Brotherhood series. It brings out Wrath and Beth’s story. Wrath is the only remaining first-blooded vampire who is expected to reign as the King of his people. In a twist of fate he searched for Beth, a half-human, half-vampire daughter of his Black Dagger brother. And then everything went into unforgettable twist of events.

Everything in this book is pure awesomeness. There are serious and morbid action scenes that basically make everything interesting.

I also love Wrath and Beth’s love story. Their chemistry right from the start is undeniable. Their romantic development on the other hand is also deep, emotional, and seriously hot! And what I also love about them is that their romance is not only the entire thing that is emphasized. They both work together as a team.

“You’re tough, you know that?”

“I’d better be if I’m going to hang around with you.”

Abruptly, he took her face into his hands. “I want that.”

For those who haven’t had a taste of this book yet, believe me when I say it’s absolutely delicious! The characters are thoroughly defined. And they are not annoying. I easily get into them and I didn’t have a hard time figuring out their roles in the book.

This book covers multiple POVs but for me, it’s quite okay since it made me get to know more about the other characters, too. Now I am so excited for the next book, Love Eternal! 🙂

My Rating for this Book: 4 Stars 🙂

signature

One thought on “REVIEW: Dark Lover by J.R. Ward

Leave a Reply

