Pages of Pearl

Book Reviews, Book Recommendations, and Whatnots

REVIEW: Zomburbia by Adam Gallardo

Zomburbia

Zomburbia
Author: Adam Gallardo
Publisher: K-Teen
Expected Publication: August 26, 2014
Genre: Horror, Young Adult
My Rating:

1star

“Scary, freaky, and original. Get this book!” -Nancy Holder Lifeless. Slow-moving. Brain-dead.
“Welcome To Zomburbia.”

My name is Courtney Hart, and I’m here to tell you about things that suck. Being born in a podunk town like Salem, Oregon, for one. Living in a world infested with zombies? That, too. And the meat heads I go to school with? I think I’d actually take the undead over them most days. But I have a plan to get out of here and move to New York. I just have to keep selling Vitamin Z along with your fries at The Bully Burger. The secret ingredient? Zombie brains.

I’ve noticed things are getting even worse lately, if that’s even possible. The zombies seem to be getting smarter and faster. If I can avoid being arrested, eaten by shufflers, or catching the eye of some stupid boy, I should be able to make it through finals week still breathing. . .

“Gallardo’s world-building is innovative and fascinating, sick and twisted and unexpectedly touching. You’ll want to check that your zombie apocalypse closet is well stocked.” -Molly Harper White

“Readers are guaranteed plenty of mayhem and romance, laughter and heartbreak.” -James Patrick Kelly

MY THOUGHTS…

I received an ARC of this book free from the author and netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

I didn’t expect anything in this book, and I’m just glad because honestly, it wasn’t a good read for me. The book didn’t have anything to tickle my interest. No excitement, no thrill, nothing but bouts of pure boringness.

There isn’t any terrifying scene and I wasn’t even scared, to think that it’s a horror genre. Added the fact that the main character, Courtney, is one mean, selfish, rude, and annoying character. She literally ruined my reading mood she’s getting on my nerves all the time!

The plot is generally dull. Not even those zombie attacks made the entire book interesting. There are also lots of characters in this book– characters that don’t even help. The only good thing about this book is that the author is witty and funny, but that didn’t make the story engaging at all. 😦

My Rate for this Book: 1 Star

signature

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

