REVIEW: The Iron Daughter by Julie Kagawa

The Iron Daughter (The Iron Fey, #2)

The Iron Daughter
(The Iron Fey #2)
Author: Julie Kagawa
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Published: August 21, 2010
Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult
Romance, Paranormal
My Rating:

1star

Half Summer faery princess, half human, Meghan has never fit in anywhere. Deserted by the Winter prince she thought loved her, she is prisoner to the Winter faery queen. As war looms between Summer and Winter, Meghan knows that the real danger comes from the Iron fey—ironbound faeries that only she and her absent prince have seen. But no one believes her.

Worse, Meghan’s own fey powers have been cut off. She’s stuck in Faery with only her wits for help. Trusting anyone would be foolish. Trusting a seeming traitor could be deadly. But even as she grows a backbone of iron, Meghan can’t help but hear the whispers of longing in her all-too-human heart.

MY THOUGHTS…

(Beware of spoilers! 🙂 )

Why, why, why did I expect too much? I’m sorry but I can no longer convince myself that I will like this book. I decided to discontinue it at 35% because (I hate to say this), this book is disappointing.

First of all, The Iron King was simply one of the best fantasy books I’ve read and I even rated it 5 stars. This book, however, is surprisingly not the one that I have really expected. I can’t bear with the characters. They totally ruined the book.

Meghan– the used-to-be brave and headstrong female character I have loved in The Iron King, suddenly became too vulnerable and soft JUST because she’s too in love and obsessed with Prince Ash– who, by the way, doesn’t even care for her and doesn’t even hesitate to tell her to leave him alone.

WTH? He’s definitely not the kind of male character that will entice me. I have sooo much expectations with him after the first book, that perhaps in the second installment his character will be better and will eventually improve. Did I get it? Nope.

“But after tonight, we’ll be enemies. Your father and my mother will be at war. If I see you again, I might kill you.” His eyes narrowed, and his voice turned cold. “For real this time, Meghan.”

No. Ash is such a jerk, annoyingly cold, proud guy who’s soo freakin’ scared of his mommy. Sorry, but his name’s already erased on my book boyfriends. Lol. 😀

Going back to Meghan, this girl has really changed here. I want to kick her in the a** for being such a naive, cry-baby character she’s kind of getting on my nerves. 😦

The plot is also slow and not so promising. My friends told me things will be better in part 2, but I don’t think I still have the interest to go on. Maybe I should focus on other series and just let everything in The Iron Fey pass.

My Rating for this Book: 1 Star

signature

Leave a Reply

