Pages of Pearl

Book Reviews, Book Recommendations, and Whatnots

REVIEW: Twisted Perfection by Abbi Glines

 

Twisted Perfection (Perfection, #1)

Twisted Perfection
(Rosemary Beach #5)
Author: Abbi Glines
Publisher: Abbi Glines
Published: April 8, 2013
Genre: New Adult, Romance,
Contemporary
My Rating:

threestars

Life outside of her house was a new experience for Della Sloane. The dark secrets of her past weren’t something she ever intended to share with anyone. They would never understand. No one would ever get close enough to find out. There was always a chance she’d go crazy sooner than they expected…

Woods Kerrington had never been one to be attracted to fragile females. They seemed like too much work. He wasn’t in it for the work just the pleasure. A night full of naughty fun had been exactly what was on his mind when he’d laid eyes on the hot little number that didn’t know how to pump gas and needed some help.

What he didn’t know was she was as fragile as they came.
The carefree girl who spoke her mind and didn’t care what the world thought of her was more breakable than he could ever imagine…

MY THOUGHTS…

Spoilers… spoilers.. spoilers…

I wanted to love this. Really, I did. Because yeah, it’s Woods this time. You get the feels? It’s WOODS! And because Woods is the main character here, I did not hesitate to put this on top of my priority TBRs. I have grown to love his characters in the Too Far series I literally swoon all the time. I even loved it whenever he’s interacting or flirting with Blaire, to the point where I consider love triangles to be okay as long as it’s Woods versus Rush.

But well, yeah, I admit I expected too much because I didn’t find what I was looking for in this book. It didn’t really thrill me, to be honest. I’ve got some issues that made me rate it lower than what I’d expected.

I have nothing against Woods here. In fact, he’s perfect, as usual. The hot damn, gorgeous panty-wetting guy girls would literally drool on. He’s exactly the same guy I’ve come across in Too Far series. Sexy and really, really swoon-worthy with a gentle and nice character. So I basically don’t have problem with him in this book.

The problem I found, I guess, is Della. When I read the blurb, I instantly thought she’s mysterious and I had this urge to get to know her more. But uh-oh, I didn’t expect her to be a bit of slutty. For those who love Della, forgive me guys, but I think her character doesn’t sit well on me. Yes, she grew up helpless and vulnerable and everything, and I understand that she needed a kind of loving or f*cking or whatsoever in order to feel loved and needed but I think that just ruins her character. I guess she’s too easy and she doesn’t even use her brain when she slept with her boss (the “stranger” Dallas bar boss) which ended up in a disaster when she found out that he was married. Ugh, that scene just typically ruined my mood. Whatevs.

Moving on, I also don’t like how Abbi Glines overdoes and exaggerates the sex scenes here. I’m always in for some steamy scenes because they basically spice up the whole story, but I guess it’s way too much I even found myself skipping some of the pages in order to get to the main point of the book and in order to find out its conclusion. (Oh, the struggle.)

I was also stressed-out when it came to the part when Woods’ parents interfere his love affair and the way they control him. I’m basically tired of dealing the same sh*t I’ve got in Too Far series when Rush’s mother and sister did not approve Blaire. I’ve had enough. It’s the same thing over and over here in Perfection series. I guess the plotline is also just the same and it’s no longer making an appeal to me. 😦

So yeah… I think the book isn’t much of a perfection for me.

My Rating for this book: 3 Stars

signature

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

