Pages of Pearl

Book Reviews, Book Recommendations, and Whatnots

REVIEW: Ruthless People by J.J. McAvoy

Ruthless People (Ruthless People, #1)

Ruthless People
(Ruthless People #1)
Author: J.J. McAvoy
Publisher: The Writers Coffee Shop
Published: July 17, 2014
Genre: Romance, New Adult, Contemporary, Erotica
My Rating:

five-stars

“Mr. & Mrs. Smith meets the Sopranos…”

To the outside world, they look like American Royalty, giving to charities, feeding the homeless, rebuilding the city. But behind closed doors is a constant battle for dominance between two Bosses, cultures, and hearts.

Ruthless People is a romantic crime fiction set in modern day Chicago, and follows the life and marriage of Melody Giovanni and Liam Callahan—rivals by blood and leaders through fear. Their marriage, arranged by their fathers in hopes to end years of bloodshed between the Irish and the Italians.

Liam believes he’s getting a simple-minded wife, one he can control, one who bends to his every need . . . the complete opposite of Melody. She knows exactly what type of man he is, and would rather die than give up the power she has spent her life building.

The Mafia of the past has evolved, and with rival bosses gunning for them, Melody and Liam will have to learn to work as one to take down those who stand in their way.

1 Marriage x 2 Bosses = 3x the Chaos

*Warning: Due to bad language, graphic violence and sex this is for over-18’s only* These are not mobsters with a heart of gold….

They do VERY bad things and will NOT change.
They are criminals…murders.

If things like that bother you Ruthless People is not for you. You’ve been warned 😉

MY THOUGHTS…

This. Is. Such. A. Freaking. Amazing. Book!

I know this may not sit well on other people because well, Ruthless People is a badass, downright violence-themed book and apparently, as what the author said in the blurb, the main characters are criminals and murderers and they do not change. So if you are against thieves, killers, drug dealers and such things (We all are against it anyway), and if you are under 18, and if you think you can’t handle the morbid, freakin’ cruel scenes that are really going to happen here, don’t read.

Anyway, I admit I was really intrigued just by reading it’s blurb and so I didn’t hesitate to read it.

Ruthless People talks about two main characters namely Liam Alec Callahan, son of Irish Mafia leader Sedric Callahan, and Melody Nicci Giovanni, daughter of Italian Mafia leader Orlando Giovanni. When Liam and Melody were forced by their parents to be wedded (yes, arranged marriages still happen), they did not defy what’s bound to happen and just accepted the marriage laid on their hands for the sake of merging and continuing their empires. Little did they know that things are really going to be different. Both of them have the same fire, brutality, and the desire to kill without hesitation and rule the Mafia world. Now how will marriage succeed when the two are manipulative and are obviously hungry for the same dangerous thing?

I may be pretty. I may be young, but I was a Giovanni. Giovannis were– and always would be– beautiful, but lethal when crossed.

He was known as the “Boogeyman of the East”, and I was the unknown “Wicked Witch of the West”.

She looks like a sweet little lamb from afar, but when you get close, you find out she skinned and ate the damn thing just to use it as a coat. She’s a beast.

The thing about Ruthless People is that it’s different among the contemporary books I’ve read. It’s dark and brutally driven. But you wouldn’t miss the romance and erotic scenes here. In fact, the bed scenes are actually intense and beyond emotional, too. Please be warned though that there are dirty and bad languages here. (Not at all shocking since the characters are really badass!)

I hated him. I loathed him. I lusted after him.

What made me rate it 5 Stars is because it’s just BEAUTIFULLY WRITTEN. The writing style of the author is so flawless and compelling and really admirable. J.J McAvoy doesn’t bore her readers. She has funny lines and well, the characters she created– not just Liam and Melody, but the supporting characters as well, are totally intriguing in a f*cked up way.

Seriously, this book is purely violence, but I don’t know why I was really drawn. Perhaps it’s because of the fact that even though the characters are literally evil in every sense of a word, they are so human that their imperfect ways make them enthralling. And although Liam and Melody are both with the same attitude, they do have the chemistry. Their romance and deep emotions surprisingly swooned me.

Here I was standing naked in front of him, not only in body, but with my “sins” as well, and he didn’t care. He saw the deepest and dirtiest parts of my soul and mind but didn’t care. In fact, he wanted to stay in the darkness with me.

“I want you to love me. But if not, then I want it to be the closest thing to you to loving me. I want your loyalty. I want your honesty. I want you by my side and no one else’s. I want your body. I want your mind. I want to know your hopes and dreams so I could one day make them reality.”

“I. Am. All. You. Have. Just as you are all I have.”

Aahh! The lines here are really sweet I could just highlight the entire book! They are witty and wickedly full of sense. Some even talk about the harsh reality which is perfectly right and wrong at the same time.

“I do care about God, and I do believe in Him. However, I know why I was created. God needs me. What would happen if there weren’t people like me? If the world were perfect, if everything was the way you wished it to be, then why would you pray? God needs me, because without us, you forget about Him. He is on my side, not yours.”

All in all, Ruthless People is one helluvah book. It’s unique and original and it’s definitely a guilty-pleasure one. However, you need to realize in the end that the main characters’ aims and jobs, in reality, are not tolerable. This is purely fiction and yeah, an entertaining guilty-pleasure read. 😉

My rating: 5 Ruthless Stars!

Source: I received a digital copy of this book free from the author and netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

signature

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

