REVIEW: The Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay

The Sea of Tranquility

The Sea of Tranquility
Author: Katja Millay
Publisher: Atria Books
Published: June 4, 2013
Genre: Young Adult, New Adult, Romance, Contemporary
My Rating:

five-stars

I live in a world without magic or miracles. A place where there are no clairvoyants or shapeshifters, no angels or superhuman boys to save you. A place where people die and music disintegrates and things suck. I am pressed so hard against the earth by the weight of reality that some days I wonder how I am still able to lift my feet to walk.

Full of rage and without a purpose, former pianist Nastya Kashnikov wants two things: to get through high school without anyone discovering her past and to make the boy who took everything from her pay.

All 17 year-old Josh Bennett wants is to build furniture and be left alone, and everyone allows it because it’s easier to pretend he doesn’t exist. When your name is synonymous with death, everyone tends to give you your space.

Everyone except Nastya, a hot mess of a girl who starts showing up and won’t go away until she’s insinuated herself into every aspect of his life. The more he gets to know her, the more of a mystery she becomes. As their relationship intensifies and the unanswered questions begin to pile up, he starts to wonder if he may ever learn the secrets she’s been hiding or if he even wants to.

The Sea of Tranquility is a slow-building, character-driven romance about a lonely boy, an emotionally fragile girl, and the miracle of second chances.

Please Note: This book contains mature content including profanity, drug/alcohol use, and sexual situations/language.

MY THOUGHTS…

Josh is my escape. He’s my hiding place.

Beautiful, extraordinary, emotionally-driven, and just the right kind of book that can make you cry and laugh and swoon at the same time.

The Sea of Tranquility is perfectly well-written. I am so surprised to find out that it’s Katja Millay’s first and only book so far. Clearly, this book is not a work of a novice. It’s an amateur’s masterpiece. I am so hoping that this author will work for another novel again because I need more of her writing style!

This book took me by surprise because I did not expect it to be this good. The way she creates characters that are broken make me feel awed. More so when these characters eventually took a step towards healing and found their way to each other.

*Sigh*

This book. It’s going to be hard for me to forget this. Everything is just so remarkably beautiful! I enjoyed every page of it (which explains why it took me days to finish it). I love reading some of its beautiful lines over and over. Can’t help it. 😉

My Ratings for this Book: 5 Stars in a Sea of Tranquility!

signature

Leave a Reply

