Pages of Pearl

Book Reviews, Book Recommendations, and Whatnots

Review: It’s Not Summer Without You

It's Not Summer Without You (Summer, #2)

It’s Not Summer Without You
(Summer #2)
Author: Jenny Han
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Published: January 1, 2010
Genre: Young Adult, Romance
Contemporary
My Rating:

five-stars

Can summer be truly summer without Cousins Beach?

It used to be that Belly counted the days until summer, until she was back at Cousins Beach with Conrad and Jeremiah. But not this year. Not after Susannah got sick again and Conrad stopped caring. Everything that was right and good has fallen apart, leaving Belly wishing summer would never come.
But when Jeremiah calls saying Conrad has disappeared, Belly knows what she must do to make things right again. And it can only happen back at the beach house, the three of them together, the way things used to be. If this summer really and truly is the last summer, it should end the way it started–at Cousins Beach.

MY THOUGHTS…

“There’s only you. For me, there’s only ever been you.”

Jenny Han had me smitten all over again! This book is one of those well-narrated sequels I have come across with. Very well done!

Poignant, dramatic, and compelling– there are so many things I’d like to describe about this book. And there are several things that make this book even more phenomenal.

First, the characters. They are simply amazing you can’t hep but root for them. Second, the plot. Jenny Han really does contemporary right. I love the writing style, the way she perfectly incorporated a unique kind of drama about love and loss, value of friendships, the importance of family, and true love. It simply got under my skin very quickly. At so many points I even found myself teary-eyed.

What’s even great is the deeper, more emotional love triangle formation. It just keeps getting more intense! I even found myself torn (once again) between Conrad and Jeremiah. Damn, these two brothers confuse my heart by each flip of a page!

Now I can’t wait to read its third and final book. 🙂

Rating: 5 Stars

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

