Review: Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

Vampire Academy

Vampire Academy
(Vampire Academy #1)
Author: Richelle Mead
Publisher: Razorbill
Published: December 31, 2013
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance
My Rating:

fourstars

The story that kicked off the international #1 bestselling Vampire Academy series is NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE. The official movie tie-in edition includes exclusive movie cover art and the official movie poster inside. Read it before it hits theaters on Valentine’s Day, 2014!

Lissa Dragomir is a Moroi princess: a mortal vampire with a rare gift for harnessing the earth’s magic. She must be protected at all times from Strigoi; the fiercest vampires–the ones who never die. The powerful blend of human and vampire blood that flows through Rose Hathaway, Lissa’s best friend, makes her a Dhampir. Rose is dedicated to a dangerous life of protecting Lissa from Strigoi, who are hell-bent on making Lissa one of them.

After two years of freedom, Rose and Lissa are caught and dragged back to St. Vladimir’s Academy, where vampire royalty and their guardians-to-be prepare for a life fraught with danger. Rose and Lissa must navigate their treacherous world and never once let their guard down, lest the evil undead make Lissa one of them forever. But soon Rose finds herself gripped by temptation of forbidden love, leaving Lissa exposed to Strigoi attack…. Now she must choose between the best friend she lives for, and the man she can’t live without.

MY THOUGHTS…

One of the reasons why I decided to read this long series is because I was so intrigued after I’ve read the Covenant series by Jennifer L. Armentrout (which is one of my favorites) and read some reviews that compared both series as similar when it comes to concept and storyline.

Now after reading this book, I kind of think that yeah, they are indeed the same in almost everything. But anyway, this was published earlier so this is certainly original.

Vampire Academy is downright amazing. This book is my first Richelle Mead book so I was really excited about this I actually had high expectations.

And my verdict? My expectations were met. Richelle Mead is such a talented writer. I love her writing style and I love the characters, especially the badass Rose and the holy hotness incarnate Dimitri Belikov. They are so perfect together! And let me add, of course Lissa and Christian. These guys— they are really amazing characters!

I adore this book as a whole, but there are two reasons that made me rate it only 4 out of 5 stars. And here they are:

1. The plot. The plot wasn’t that flawless for me. The world building wasn’t done perfectly, but I’m not saying it was bad. I understand that it’s the first book of the series so maybe it wasn’t that well-enhanced.

2. The action. I was looking for real, intense action scenes here but there were only brief and not really adrenaline-pulling ones.

However, there are lots of positive things about this book. These include the ending which was so freaking impressive and satisfying. No cliffhangers here so I love it! This book, overall, is wonderful. I’m actually reading its sequel Frostbite right now. 🙂

Rating: 4 Stars

Leave a Reply

