Review: After the Rain by Lisa De Jong

After the Rain (Rains, #1.5)After the Rain
(Rains  #1.5)
Author: Lisa De Jong
Publisher: Lisa De Jong
Publication: December 11, 2013
Genre: New Adult, Romance, Contemporary, Drama
My Rating:

threestars

A novella follow-up to When It Rains.

The last few years have been my best and my worst. Now I’m learning to move on after my greatest heartbreak of all.

I’m in college with the guy I’ve loved since I was just a kid, but when two people have the history we do, there are always obstacles to overcome. They say love conquers all, and it’s time to find out how true that really is.

There’s life after the heartbreak and pain, but will it be what I’ve always dreamed of?

MY THOUGHTS…

“Life’s most beautiful moments come after the rain.”

Don’t get me wrong. I love When It Rains so much that it totally gave me a hard time moving on after reading it. But this novella– well… It wasn’t that bad, but it wasn’t that good either (in my opinion).

I expected something different but you see, it was not met.

First, I had an issue with the plot. There was no real plot in this novella– except during the last part (which was beautiful and sweet) but the rest was meh.

And although there were additional characters being introduced here (which are soon to be highlighted in the next sequels), it did not help. I was also surprised to find out that there was no real closure when it comes to Kate’s feelings towards (view spoiler). And I found out that she wasn’t able to move on still… after a year of being with (view spoiler). (I could not judge her though).

This novella was also loaded with sex and making out and sex once more and making out again– which was kind of exaggerating. Yes, it was sweet and romantic but I guess it was too cheesy. I could sense a clingy relationship that is kind of unhealthy.

But anyways, the ending was great and I guess that’s more important. 🙂

Rating: 3 Stars

signature

Leave a Reply

