Review: The Best of Me by Nicholas Sparks

https://i0.wp.com/ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/516psDh7PpL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpgThe Best of Me
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Publisher: Sphere
Publication: September 14, 2010
Genre: Romance, Contemporary, Adult
My Rating:

fourstars

THE BEST OF ME is the heart-rending story of two small-town former high school sweethearts from opposite sides of the tracks. Now middle-aged, they’ve taken wildly divergent paths, but neither has lived the life they imagined . . . and neither can forget the passionate first love that forever altered their world. When they are both called back to their hometown for the funeral of the mentor who once gave them shelter, they will be forced to confront the choices each has made, and ask whether love can truly rewrite the past.

THE BEST OF ME

MY THOUGHTS…

“I gave you the best of me, and after you left, nothing was ever the same.”

*sobs*

This book isn’t fair! Right now my emotions are all over the place I don’t even know if I could write a decent review.

But heck, Nicholas Sparks did it again!

Everything in this book is remarkable. Told in multiple POVs, I found this book totally engaging and emotionally-driven. I fell in love right from the beginning up to the end. With Nicholas Sparks’ beautiful lines and plot, I could never stop admiring how great a storyteller he is.

I like the idea of childhood sweethearts reuniting again after so many years. This book, however, is different, because the reunion may or may not give them a chance to be together for a lifetime. That’s the reason why I love this book. It doesn’t guarantee a happy ending and yet it totally surprises you with its beautiful, heart-felt message.

I found the plot twist predictable, however. But all in all, there’s no denying that it’s one of the utterly brilliant tales ever told by this magnificent author.

I know it was published years ago, but if you want a Nicholas Sparks feels one of these days, you might want to consider this book. 🙂 And oh, it has a movie adaptation which I will definitely watch!

Rating: 4 Stars

signature

3 thoughts on “Review: The Best of Me by Nicholas Sparks

Leave a Reply

