Pages of Pearl

Book Reviews, Book Recommendations, and Whatnots

Review: On Dublin Street by Samantha Young

On Dublin Street (On Dublin Street, #1)On Dublin Street
(On Dublin Street #1)
Author: Samantha Young
Publisher: NAL
Publication: August 21, 2012
Genre: Romance, New Adult, Contemporary, Erotica
My Rating:

threestars

Jocelyn Butler has been hiding from her past for years. But all her secrets are about to be laid bare…

Four years ago, Jocelyn left her tragic past behind in the States and started over in Scotland, burying her grief, ignoring her demons, and forging ahead without attachments. Her solitary life is working well—until she moves into a new apartment on Dublin Street where she meets a man who shakes her carefully guarded world to its core.

Braden Carmichael is used to getting what he wants, and he’s determined to get Jocelyn into his bed. Knowing how skittish she is about entering a relationship, Braden proposes an arrangement that will satisfy their intense attraction without any strings attached.

But after an intrigued Jocelyn accepts, she realizes that Braden won’t be satisfied with just mind-blowing passion. The stubborn Scotsman is intent on truly knowing her… down to the very soul.

MY THOUGHTS…

Before anything else I’d like to thank my friend Bea for recommending this to me. (Please don’t hate me for this review though. Teehee!)

I hate to rate this book 3 out of 5 stars to be honest because I really like it. I’ve always been a sucker for cheesy, mushy, and smexy books and this one really tickled all the right boxes for me.

The thing is, characters usually affect my rating– no matter how good the plot and the writing style of the author is. While I love this book to pieces (especially because of Braden Carmichael), Jocelyn makes me raise some serious eyebrows all throughout. I get that she has a post-traumatic stress disorder due to the horrible things that happened to her during the past. In fact, I admire her bravery for handling those things and continuously living the present all alone, without her family.

What I don’t just like is the way she continuously rejects everyone around her– including Braden, who by the way, is the perfect-est guy I’ve met in a book. (Tell you what, he surpassed some of my favorite fictional men so I love him for that!). She always has the tendency to be rude and annoying– which makes it hard for me to like her at all.

(Sorry guys, I don’t mean to be rude for not liking her.)

I guess I don’t really have the patience to deal with female characters with bratty attitudes so yeah… And because of that, I give Braden a high-five for being so committed to her and for being consistent no matter how hard she has to deal with at times.

The storyline is good. I’d give that to Miss Samantha Young, and her writing style is perfect and smooth. I just have a little issue with some of the scenes which I think are unnecessary. They tend to be dragging, but those are minimal so it’s not really a big deal to me.

The sexy scenes are HAWT and totally romantic. If Jocelyn does not annoy me, the whole thing will really swoon me. As a whole, it was still a good and enjoyable read and that’s the thing that I need nevertheless. 🙂

I recommend this book to all NA romance readers like me. If you fancy a rich and smexy male character with a troubled past and an attractive female character with flaws and issues, this one is perfectly created for you.

Rating: 3 Stars

signature

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Review: On Dublin Street by Samantha Young

  1. I hope your dislike for Jocelyn doesn’t prevent you from reading the rest of the books in the series. Each book revolves primarily on two characters while the growing cast is always incorporated as well. I just finished the series. My favorite character out of the series is Cole. My comments on the last two books are at http://lizellyn.com/2015/06/01/moonlight-on-nightingale-way-on-dublin-street-6/

Leave a Reply

