Book Review and Author Interview: The Secret Diamond Sisters by Michelle Madow

The Secret Diamond Sisters (The Secret Diamond Sisters, #1)The Secret Diamond Sisters
(The Secret Diamond Sisters #1)
Author: Michelle Madow
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Published: February 25, 2014
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
My Rating:

5 stars new

Synopsis new

Savannah. Courtney. Peyton.

The three sisters grew up not knowing their father and not quite catching a break. But it looks like their luck is about to change when they find out the secret identity of their long-lost dad—a billionaire Las Vegas hotel owner who wants them to come live in a gorgeous penthouse hotel suite. Suddenly the Strip’s most exclusive clubs are all-access, and with an unlimited credit card each, it should be easier than ever to fit right in. But in a town full of secrets and illusion, fitting in is nothing compared to finding out the truth about their past.

my thoughts new

THE SECRET DIAMOND SISTERS

(A paperback copy was provided by the author Michelle Madow in exchange for an honest review. This does not influence my rating and review)

My level of enjoyment with this book can be summed up into 5-diamond studded stars. Why? Because this book is highly entertaining. It goes beyond expectations.

The Secret Diamond Sisters is the first book of The Secret Diamond Sisters series. This book talks about three teenage siblings namely Peyton, Courtney, and Savannah who grew up with their single-mom who is an alcoholic. Financially average, the sisters’ lives dramatically changed when they discovered that they are in fact, the daughters of the billionaire Adrian Diamond whom they haven’t met since the day they were born. When their mom was admitted to an alcoholic rehab center for treatment and self-help, the three of them were forced to leave their small town in California and move to the lustrous sin-city Las Vegas. From there, they basically experienced luxury at its finest, but at the same time, met friends who were either real or fake, and lived with their dad who’s a complete stranger, which made them wonder if being the daughters of a rich man really is a perk or a disaster.

Now here are the reasons why I admire this book to bits.

LAS VEGAS. I haven’t been to the US, let alone Las Vegas. And this book made me feel as though I was there, enjoying some Piña colada with the hottest, rich guy in the city while doing some serious shopping and watching the Phantom of the Opera in a grand theater, getting my Blamex wasted like the sky’s not even the limit. WHY NOT?

description

THE CHARACTERS. Basically, the main characters here in this book are not perfect. The three siblings are simply the kind of teenage girls you basically meet every day. A bit angsty, immature, and sometimes even frustrating. Their good side, however, is that they can be your best friends, too. Their sisterly love is utterly admirable, and those qualities, I guess, are one of the reasons why I adore this book. I learned to be patient with each of their flaws.

Each of them has different traits. One is a socially-obsessed girl who desperately wants to fit in the new society, while the other one is a modest type who settles to just stay in her room reading books, while the other is a rebel-type who does not bend to any other people’s commands. The three of them are different and their characters are the one that makes the book more interesting.

WRITING STYLE OF THE AUTHOR. I’ve always been a sucker for books that are written in an easy, simple style. This book gave me the real pleasure because Michelle Madow‘s writing is light, it doesn’t give me troubles.

MULTIPLE POVS. I kind of hate multiple POVS, but this one was well-done. There are four POVS in this book– Savannah, Peyton, Courtney, and a secondary character (antagonist)Madison. Alright, before you react, I want to assure you that four POVS will never confuse you. The author did a great job in voicing those characters. I love how the tone made them really different with one another. That’s quite impressive.

FAMILY DRAMA AND ROMANCE. I love the family drama here and how the sisters tried to reach out with their dad. The romance is also absolutely good and swoony. And did I tell you it’s unpredictable, too? YES. I basically didn’t have any idea who the siblings’ love interests are, which makes the story intriguing.

As a whole, I did have fun with this book. It’s my kind of book. It’s girly, classy, and unique for my taste. It’s a book you guys should definitely check! If you are a fan of Gossip Girl, then I have this feeling you’re going to like it, too. 🙂

Rating: Diamond-studded 5 Stars

autho interview new new

You’re the author of Transcend Times series and The Secret Diamond Sisters. Have you always wanted to be a writer? And was there a defining moment during your youth when you realized you wanted to be a writer?

I’ve written for fun since I was in elementary school! My defining moment when I realized I wanted to write professionally was in the fall semester of my junior year of college. I was taking an Intro to Creative Writing course, and our first homework assignment was to write anything we wanted — it could be a short story, a poem, or the first chapter of a novel. I wrote the first chapter of what would later become Remembrance. My teacher and classmates LOVED it, and after they praised it so much and said that they needed to know what happened next, I decided to try my hand at writing the full novel. I finished the first draft by the end of my junior year.

Can you tell us a bit about The Secret Diamond Sisters?

The Secret Diamond Sisters is about three sisters from a small town who find out they’re long-lost heiresses of a Las Vegas billionaire hotel owner. They’re whisked away on his private jet to Las Vegas, where they move into a gorgeous penthouse condo in one of the buildings he owns on the Las Vegas Strip. The book is full of girl drama, hot guys, and of course, sisterhood and learning what it is to be a family. It’s a trilogy, and the final book, Diamonds are Forever, is coming out October 27, 2015. The series is perfect for fans of Gossip Girl, Pretty Little Liars, and Princess Diaries!

I love how you did an excellent job voicing out each one of the characters. Were the three Diamond sisters inspired by real persons? And which character do you connect with the most?

There are little bits of myself within each Diamond sister, but beyond that, they really developed into their own people as I worked on editing the first book. Since the story revolves around four main characters, I had to make sure they all had unique voices, and making them all realistic was the biggest challenge for me while writing this series. I can’t pick a favorite, since each one has parts of myself within her! But Savannah and Madison tend to be the most fun for me to write.

I love the covers of your books. So utterly gorgeous! Do you get any say in them, or do you just wait and get pleasantly surprised?

Thank you! I love them, too. I told the cover design team what each main character looks like, and told them about important settings and symbols in the book. They took it from there, and I’m thrilled with how the covers turned out!

The final book of the Secret Diamond Sisters series, Diamonds are Forever, will be released in October. What can we look forward?

Diamonds are Forever focuses around forgiveness. So far, so many secrets have been revealed that have completely changed how each character views the world. There have been so many betrayals, and in the final book it’s time for the characters to face these betrayals head-on and learn what they can (or cannot) forgive. I’m so proud of the final book, and I hope you all enjoy reading it as much as I loved writing it!

So excited for that! Thank you so much, Michelle, for taking time to answer these questions. It’s such a pleasure to have you here in my blog!
You can purchase her books in:

SONY DSC

about the author new

Michelle Madow wrote her first novel, Remembrance, in her junior year of college. Remembrance is the first book in The Transcend Time Saga, a three part series about reincarnation and true love that Michelle successfully self-published. The series was inspired by Taylor Swift’s “Love Story” music video. Michelle’s latest YA series, The Secret Diamond Sisters, about three sisters who discover they are the secret heirs to a Las Vegas billionaire casino owner, was published in March 2014 by Harlequin Teen. The second book in the series, Diamonds in the Rough, released in November 2014, and the third book, Diamonds are Forever, will be coming out in November 2015. Michelle is active on social media networks and has toured across America to promote her books and encourage high school students to embrace reading and writing.

Michelle lives in Boca Raton, Florida, where she is writing more novels for young adults. She loves reading, spending time with family and friends, traveling the world, shopping, Disney fairy tales, Broadway musicals, and loves talking with fans on Facebook (/MichelleMadow), Twitter (@MichelleMadow), and Instagram (@MichelleMadow). Visit Michelle online at www.michellemadow.com.

To chat with Michelle and other fans about her books, join Michelle Madow’s Street Team on Facebook!

xo pearl
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s