Review: Bang by E.K. Blair

Bang (Black Lotus, #1)

Bang
(Black Lotus #1)
Author: E.K. Blair
Publisher: E.K. Blair LLC
Publication: May 9, 2014
Genre: Dark, Erotica, BDSM, Romance, Contemporary
My Rating:

four stars

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

They say when you take revenge against another you lose a part of your innocence.
But I’m not innocent.
I haven’t been for a very long time.
My innocence was stolen from me. Taken was the life I was supposed to have. The soul I was born with. The ruby heart embedded in a life full of hopes and dreams.

Gone.
Vanished.

I never even had a choice.
I mourn that life. Mourn the what-ifs.
Until now.
I’m ready to take back what was always meant to be mine.

But every plan has a fatal flaw. Sometimes it’s the heart.

**Due to the dark and explicit nature of this book, it is recommended for mature audiences only as some scenes may be particularly disturbing.**

my thoughts

“Sometimes, for some people, there’s no such thing as happily ever after.”

This book is dark, gritty, and completely hard to put down…

Picture this: You were still a child when your father– who’s the only family you had, was taken away from you and was put into prison. You grew up in a foster home and were eventually led to a new family that brought you an even more traumatic experience. You were raped, degraded, and your life became simply a thing you despise. And then you met someone who could possibly end all your rage. All your life, you wanted revenge and that someone is the key to have it all done. But what if everything, in the end, will just ruin you all over again? This was what happened to Nina Vanderwal, a totally messed-up character who wanted nothing but revenge as she grew up.

I’ve never read a book as dark as a dungeon as this. This author seriously nailed such a theme that basically blow my mind, wrenched my gut, and made my heart leap into my throat. The plotline was sickeningly outrageous that it kept me anticipating, wanting to know everything until I completely get the answers that are building up inside my head. How E.K. Blair plotted those brutal and sadistic series of events just made me admire her boldness in this very challenging genre.

description

The author created such characters that are totally twisted. It made me question how far their insanity has gone all throughout the book.

This book will absolutely make you go WTF the entire time. It’s like the author just wanted to throw as much disturbing things in here. A combination of rape, BDSM, crime, deception, lies, taboo, and everything twisted. The writing style of this author successfully produced the intended result to me. MIND-BLOWN!

And oh, did I mention it has an ending that made me freak the heck out?

If you are in for dark, completely out-of-your-comfort-zone reads, then this one is a highly recommended book!

Rating: 4 Stars

Special thanks to my dear sister Bea for recommending this book to me! 😉

READ ALL MY REVIEWS HERE

signature ok

6 thoughts on “Review: Bang by E.K. Blair

Leave a Reply

