Pages of Pearl

Book Reviews, Book Recommendations, and Whatnots

Review: Oleah Chronicles: Truth by Michelle Johnson

Oleah Chronicles: Truth

Oleah Chronicles: Truth
Author: Michelle Johnson
Publisher: Oleah Publishing
Publication: January 1, 2015
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance, Paranormal, Science Fiction
My Rating:

five stars

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

What would you do if everything you thought to be true in your life was a lie?

Sixteen-year-old Angel Seriki must face overwhelming truths about her family when she meets Zander Black, a new student to her high school who is smart, charming and devastatingly beautiful. The revelations he uncovers to her about her family’s past changes everything, and as her relationship and feelings for Zander deepen, so do the risks involved. She must now accept her fate and face the true reality of who and what she is. Even if that means giving up everything, including being human.

my thoughts

Oleah 1

(A free copy was given to me by the author Michelle Johnson in exchange for an honest review. This does not influence my rating and opinion of the book.)

Surprisingly good! It’s a debut novel and it successfully made a great impression.

The story opens with the protagonist Angel Seriki living an ordinary life together with her parents in Ontario. Set in a Young Adult setting, she didn’t have any idea that she’s not a human but an Oleah— a creature with a combination of human and lion features. Oleahs originally live in a planet called Uforika. While growing up, her parents kept this huge secret about their true form from her in order to protect her against Sindrell (an evil witch known as the sister of Satan) who’s on a mission to abduct her and steal her unusual powers that could distract enemies.

What made me feel drawn to this book was the clever and incredibly dynamic theme the author was able to come up with. I haven’t met a mythical creature with lion features. There were witches, wolves, vampires, faeries, but Oleah? It’s something new and refreshing, it simply opens a lot of fascinating things to my imagination.

The writing style of the author was simplistic and very easy to digest. Though there were some parts that made me crave for more descriptions and elaborations, especially the action scenes, still, Michelle Johnson was able to nail important details about the story.

Oleah 2

The main characters and secondary ones were not difficult to love as well. Angel was a genuine character. I like how she was able to unfold herself over the course of the story. How she dealt with the truth about her identity and the way she accepted her fate and the dangers that surround her and her family.

Zander, on the hand, (MY OH MY, ZANDER), was one of the characters that intrigued me. He was so mysterious and well, a hotness incarnate and swoon-worthy fictional guy who can easily get into the hearts of the female readers. Why not? In this book he was described as someone with an air of mystery, danger, and oozing sexiness. Sign me up!

This book, all in all, took me by surprise. I did not expect to like it, but I did. This book simply offered a refreshing charm that kept me turning pages to see how the story would unfold. The pacing was fast and there were no boring parts. It was easy to read, and if only I’m not a very busy person, I would’ve been able to devour it in one or two sittings, because it’s simply addictive and a very interesting read.

This is the first book of the series. I don’t have an idea how many sequels are waiting, but surely I will keep myself posted because I want to follow this series. Thumbs up for a very well-done debut novel, Michelle!

Rating: 5 Stars

Purchase this book in

READ ALL MY REVIEWS HERE

signature ok

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Review: Oleah Chronicles: Truth by Michelle Johnson

  1. It’s always interesting reading of characters I haven’t heard of before and Oleah’s definitely sound very intriguing in this one! A great thing that the character deals with it well and wow, Zander sounds super swooney. Wonderful review Pearl! ❤

    • Aw thank you, Jeann. Always a thrilling thing to read something that is different and refreshing, like this one. I hope you will get to read this soon and see what I’m talking about. Teehee! Xo

  2. I’m reading this too! It’s really good!

Leave a Reply

