Interview with Stacy Reid, Author of Scandalous House of Calydon series

The Duke's Shotgun Wedding (Scandalous House of Calydon, #1)

Synopsis new

Victorian Era England…
As far as rash decisions go, it was formidable. But Lady Jocelyn Rathbourne’s will remains strong. If the only way to save her family’s estate and reputation is by aiming a small pistol at the Duke of Calydon, then so be it. For Lady Jocelyn demands satisfaction – and she will have it at any cost. Even if it means demanding the hand of the intense and foreboding Duke himself… But she’s made the first move against a very dangerous opponent… For Sebastian Thornton is no stripling to be trifled with. The lady has played her hand. Now it’s his turn. For Sebastian is in need of a wife. And to find a wife with spirit and fire – even if she means to only marry for his money – would be a great prize indeed. And he intends to thoroughly take his pleasure with her… and demands his own satisfaction in return.

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

Check my reviews of Stacy Reid’s books here

autho interview new new

Welcome to my blog, Stacy! I’m very pleased to have you here. When did you first know that you wanted to be a writer?

Hi Pearl! Thank you for having me. I wanted to be a writer from I was about twelve years old. At that time I was hooked on Hardy boys, Nancy drew, and The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe. When I ran out of books to read (not because I devoured them all, but because my local library was very limited) I started to dabble with my own short stories and my love for writing grew and flourished.

Oh my God. Nancy Drew! I’m a fan. Can you tell us about your road to publication?

It has been a really amazing journey. While I loved writing no one in my family thought it made sense, and every time I mentioned writing romance I was met with staunch resistance. I buried the desire and went onto pursue a business degree. The day after graduation I sat on my bed crying because I was unhappy with my career path. My hubby asked me what’s up, and I poured out my desire to write. He encouraged me not to take the job I was just offered and to pursue my dream.

I spent the next year writing three books in a paranormal/ fantasy romance series. I then tried to get an agent which was disastrous.  But I didn’t let the rejections get me down, and I kept searching for a way to publication. I came across a blog post about Entangled publishing and how fantastic they were doing. And I thought, “This is where I want to be.” So I submitted my book and I was rejected. I was crushed! The very next day I saw where Entangled sent out a submission call for historical romance novellas. I pondered on it for hours and I thought ‘I can write historical as well for I adored reading the favourite genre.’ So I crafted a story, one I was hoping to intrigue the acquiring editor for the call, and I wrote the first book in The Scandalous house of Calydon series. It was accepted and I was offered a four book contract for the series… and the rest is in the wind!

I adore your writing style! Are there any authors whose writing you think is beautiful, or have influenced your writing style? 

Oh wow. I am grinning like mad that you love my writing style. Thank you! There are so many wonderful authors out there that I adore. I find Nalini Singh’s and Lora Leigh’s writing to be beautiful and scrumptious. My favourite historical romance authors are Lisa Kleypas, Judith McNaught, Johanna Lindsey, Julie Garwood,  Kinley Macgregor, and Phillipa Gregory. Have they influenced my writing style? I can only pray and hope they do in some way because these ladies are amazing.

We do have a lot in common. I love Lisa Kleypas and Judith McNaught, too! Anyway, I’ve known you for your wonderful characterization and your sizzling love scenes. How do you approach writing love scenes?

Ha! Sizzling love scenes. J Before I start writing a book I spend hours picturing my couples conversing together, and with other people to get a feel of their character. I laugh out loud at some of the things I imagine, gasp, roll my eyes, and keep imagining until I can hear them talking, and I even respond sometimes. After I have painted the image of my hero and heroine, before I write one word, I always immerse myself in their sensual encounters. I then write the first kiss and a semblance of their first sex scene before I write the book itself. Madness I know. Does it work all the time? No. Sometimes the characters surprise me and do what they want. LOL.  

I also have a husband who is always willing for me to push him down and have my way when I am wondering if something is possible. He is wonderful enough where he does not complain about having a bit of himself in every one of my heroes. 😉

That is so sweet! What is your writing routine like? And how do you combat writer’s block?

My routine is all over the place! Sometimes I write in the day, but I am way more productive in the night when the house is asleep and I can immerse myself in my worlds without distraction. I do not really have a set time I allot daily to writing. Some days I write for two hours, and other days for twelve. It all depends on how the characters are speaking to me on that day. I hate putting myself on a schedule…every time I try I fail, so I just do not do it.

Writers block—sometimes the characters are silent, and no matter what, words won’t come. The thing is not to panic and know it is a part of the process. It is tempting to get hysterical especially when a deadline is looming. But what I find works well for me is to simply pause, and do something else. Go out to dinner, watch a movie, and remind myself not to obsess over the fact I am stuck or the story feels boring. And always in the midst of doing something boring or torturous like washing the dishes or hanging clothes on the line (yes I hate doing these things) my characters speak to me in the most amazing way.

Do you have any advice for aspiring writers? 

Never lose sight of your dream. When it is daunting and all seems dim, keep writing. Always work on improving your craft. Read writing blogs, read books in your genre and never ever give up on the dream to be an author. There will be a lot of stumbling blocks, but the biggest one will be your doubt.

What are you working on right now? And can you tell us something about your new and upcoming book(s)?

I have two more books releasing this year, book 4 in the  Scandalous House of Calydon Series THE ROYAL CONQUEST, which is set to release November 30th, and book one in The Novel of the Amagarians series, ( a smexy paranormal fantasy romance) ETERNAL DARKNESS, to be released this October 6th. I am also completing book one in a new series to be released by Entangled Publishing next year! The first book tentatively titled ACCIDENTALLY COMPROMISING THE DUKE, will be release February 2016, and I am so excited about it J. I am also working on Scandalous house of Calydon #5 (Marcus and Charlotte’s story)

That is so  exciting! Now for some rapid-fire questions.

Favorite writing snack?

Pizza

Favorite writing and reading nook?

My bed with a mound of pillows

Favorite childhood book?

The Nancy Drew series

Favorite book boyfriend?

Zadist from J.R. Ward BDB series. I have read his book a gazillion times.

Current book you’re reading?

The Earl’s Bride by Frances Fowlkes.

Thank you once again, Stacy, for taking time to answer these questions. It’s such a pleasure to have you here!

You can purchase Stacy Reid’s books in:

Stacy Reid

about the author new

(Bio taken from Goodreads)

I am an unapologetic romance lover. I read it. I write it. Enough said. Well..I also have a warrior way “Never give up on my dreams.” I spend a copious amount of time drooling over Rick Grimes from Walking Dead, watching Japanese anime and playing video games with my love, Dusean.

Follower her on twitter: https://twitter.com/st_reid

xo pearl

2 thoughts on “Interview with Stacy Reid, Author of Scandalous House of Calydon series

Leave a Reply

