Review: First Comes Love by Katie Kacvinsky

First Comes Love (First Comes Love, #1)

First Comes Love
(First Comes Love #1)
Author: Katie Kacvinsky
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Publication: May 7, 2013
Genre: Romance, Young Adult, Contemporary, New Adult
My Rating:

two stars

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

“The perfect love story to kick-start your summer reading.”–Seventeen.com

Like his name, Gray is dark and stormy. Dylan, a girl who is seemingly unable to settle down, is the exact opposite: full of light and life. On the outside, they seem like an unlikely couple. But looks can be deceiving, and besides, opposites attract. What starts as friendship turns into admiration, respect, and caring, until finally these two lone souls find that they are truly in love with each other. But staying in love is never as easy as falling in love. If Dylan and Gray want their love to last, they’re going to have to work at it . . .

my thoughts

“When your world’s become one person, how do you prepare to let her go? How do you get over someone you know you’ll never forget?”

Before I started this book, I was really excited because everyone seems to like it, most especially my friends on Goodreads. Seeing the synopsis and the sweet reviews, I told myself that this book must be really good because it definitely sounds right up my alley. Unfortunately after reading it, I realized that it’s completely different than what I was expecting, and sad to say… the book was not for me.

I love the fact that the author was able to come up with such a sweet and innocent romantic concept in this book. Katie Kacvinsky was able to hit such notes that entail an emotionally-driven love story. The concept was fairly well done and the writing style was also beautiful.

I think my main problem with the book was the characters. I was having a hard time liking them. Gray was a grumpy and a bit of a snobby guy at first– which did not make a great impression. For me, first impressions last and well, it definitely applied to me when his character was introduced. Dylan, on the other hand, fell a little over-the-top. I can’t seem to find her interesting at all despite the descriptions the author put into her. She was high-spirited, animated, and bubbly but for some reasons, I could not genuinely like her and get invested with her. I also think she was weird in a worrying way. Who in their actual mind will give names to everything? Like her car, plants, and even her freckles?

She tells me she names everything. Even her freckles. She turns her arm over and introduces me to two freckles close to each other on her forearm, Blake and Stacey. She claims they got in a fight with a third freckle, Meredith, farther up her arm near her elbow. I don’t encourage the conversation any further.

Well, I also won’t encourage myself to entertain these thoughts any further as well. Lol.

I also think the book was too descriptive. It lacked some movement. Also, there were some parts that are quiteunrealistic, like how they started going out together even if they’ve just met like, few hours ago? And also how their conversation went deep in an emotional level after few minutes of talking during their first date.

Anyway, this book really has lots of potentials to make me feel drawn. I like the ending. I think it was sweet. But like I said, it was just not for me. As thoughtful as the story appeared to be, it just didn’t get me.

Raing: 2 Stars

This book was recommended to me by my sweet gorgeous friend AJ. Thank you, AJ! 🙂 Check out her beautiful REVIEW on this book, guys!

Buy this book at

READ ALL MY REVIEWS HERE

signature ok

Leave a Reply

