Pages of Pearl

Book Reviews, Book Recommendations, and Whatnots

Interview with Michelle Johnson, Author of Oleah Chronicles

Oleah Chronicles: Truth

Synopsis new

What would you do if everything you thought to be true in your life was a lie?

Sixteen-year-old Angel Seriki must face overwhelming truths about her family when she meets Zander Black, a new student to her high school who is smart, charming and devastatingly beautiful. The revelations he uncovers to her about her family’s past changes everything, and as her relationship and feelings for Zander deepen, so do the risks involved. She must now accept her fate and face the true reality of who and what she is. Even if that means giving up everything, including being human.

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

Check my review of Oleah Chronicles: Truth here.

autho interview new new

Hi, Michelle! Welcome to my blog. Thanks for taking time to do this interview with me. What inspired you to write? 

Thank you so much for allowing me to do this! Your support is greatly appreciated and definitely valued! I suppose I’ve always written from since I can remember. I used to constantly write stories as a kid that I still have to this day about vampires, werewolves and all types of craziness HAHAHA! I’ve also always kept a diary throughout the years so writing is something that has always been a part of me. I can’t say anything in particular inspired me per se, when I began writing Oleah Chronicles: Truth, I had no intention to share it with anyone. I just started writing the crazy thoughts that were in my head one day, and before I knew it I had written three chapters. From there it kinda took on a life of its own.

Can you tell us something interesting about your book Oleah Chronicles that everyone should expect before reading it?

I would say to expect to be taken a journey through the eyes of a shy teen who’s life gets derailed from secrets that resurface from a past she never knew was her own. The story has many elements of fantasy in it along with creatures you’ve never heard of before.

What was the most difficult part of writing Oleah Chronicles? 

Honestly, the most difficult part of the story was describing the Oleahs. In my head it’s so clear, but when applying it to paper I became frustrated one too many times because it didn’t sound right. I’m still not a hundred percent satisfied with the end result of my descriptions, which is why I decided that a visual was definitely needed on the front cover. Some things you just have to see, you know? I also put up a section on my website called “What is an Oleah” for anyone else that needed to see what it is I was trying to describe.

Apart from writing, what are your other interests in life?

I love to draw! Once upon a time I wanted to have my own comic book, but about ten or twelve years ago, my computer crashed and I lost all my files. After that, I was never inspired enough to start over. I do however, keep a sketch book that I like to draw in occasionally.

Aw… That is so sad. I hope you can get back to doing your hobby again. Do you have a technological device that you find hard to live without?

My phone! HAHAHA! I rely so much on my phone it’s scary! Its always on me and I am always on it checking my Instagram, emails, Goodreads, everything! So bad, but true!

Story of my life. Haha! When will the next book of the series be released? And what can we look forward?

The next book will be called Oleah Chronicles: Justice, and the goal is to get it out early next year. It’s much darker than the first book and will definitely take readers on an emotional ride that will be jam packed with action. When readers meet Angel in Truth, she’s just an insecure, naive and scared kid. In Justice, she has to face her fear and confront her own weaknesses which will transform her into who she’s meant to be.

Wow. Now I’m more excited for Angel’s character development! Now for some fun facts:
Favorite food? My background is Jamaican, so I love west indian food. But as of late, I’ve become really obsessed with Mediterranean food. Shwarma has become my weakness. 🙂
Ultimate book boyfriend? Ugh!! It’s soooo hard to choose! I have three of them, Edward from Twilight, Bones from The Night Huntress Series and Gideon Cross from the Crossfire Series. Now, if I could merge them all together to have Edward’s sensitivity, Bone’s personality and possessiveness with Gideon’s looks, that would be the ULTIMATE BOOK BOYFRIEND!! Gah!!!
Favorite TV show? For the longest time it was Spartacus and True Blood, but now it’s all about Scandal! Team Fitz!
Dream destination? Rome, Italy! I went there when I was sixteen and fell in love with it.
Thanks again for dropping by the blog, Ms. Michelle! It is such a pleasure!

You can purchase Oleah Chronicles: Truth in:

Michelle Johnson

about the author new

(Bio taken from Goodreads)

Throughout my childhood I was always told I had a very creative imagination. I was drawn to stories of mythical creatures and all things that would usually give my peers the heebie geebies. Shows like Tales from the Crypt Keeper and Buffy the Vampire Slayer were among some of my favourites.

I developed a strong passion for design and illustration, drawing the ideas that arose in my head and finding great excitement in bringing them to life. This led me to pursue a career in graphic design and marketing so that I could always use my creativity to the fullest.

I have always loved reading and the way a compelling story would allow my mind to absorb its detailed imagery. I began to use writing as a tool to bring my creative thoughts to fruition one day, which has brought me to this moment.

I’m a romantic at heart and a sucker for stories about true love which is reflected in my writing and helped bring the Oleah Chronicles to life. I hope you enjoy my first book and through it you experience the eccentric vision that began in my mind so long ago.

Follower her on twitter: https://twitter.com/OleahChronicles

and on her website: http://www.oleahchronicles.com

xo pearl

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

