Pages of Pearl

Book Reviews, Book Recommendations, and Whatnots

Review: Eternal Darkness by Stacy Reid

Eternal Darkness (The Amagarians, #1)

Eternal Darkness
(The Amagarians #1)
Author: Stacy Reid
Publisher: Stacy Reid
Publication: October 6, 2015
Genre: New Adult, Erotica, Paranormal, Fantasy
My Rating:

five stars

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

The darkest taste of temptation…

Fleeing from a blood oath made against her will to a man known in the seven realms as the tyrant king, the last place Princess Saieke Shyokara, expected to be trapped was in the Darkage, the land of the feared shadowed demons. Even worse, she’s stuck with Archduke Drac EL Kyn, a Darkan–a creature of darkness and sensuality, who entices her with passion, intrigue, and danger. The only thing she needs from the fierce warrior is his body to further her own plot…certainly not the dangerously irresistibly desire he rouses.

As one of the deadliest shadow assassins of his realm, Drac must use his skills to unearth the factions who murdered his king. Drawn by an irresistible hunger to the princess, he struggles to maintain distance from a woman who is utterly forbidden to those of his race. Yet, as she navigates the treacherous schemes and traps laid for her by the kingdoms of the seven realms, Drac must decide if he will claim Saieke as his mate, or will he relinquish this woman, who stirs in him the darkest hunger he’s ever known, to avoid embroiling his kingdom in war…

**Heat level: Scorching**
**Mature audiences only! **
**Word count: 86000 words**

**Eternal Darkness is the first book in the Amagarians series and is a standalone**

my thoughts

Thank you to Stacy Reid for the advance reading copy in exchange for an honest review!

My experience with New Adult Fantasy is so limited that I always crave to read more of this genre. Thankfully, Eternal Darkness did not fail me, and instead, it thoroughly surprised and amazed me.

Eternal Darkness is the first installment of The Amagarians series. It’s actually my nth time to read a book written by Stacy Reid and I must say that she continues to astound me. I’ve known her for her historical romance specialty (and she’s very good at it) and I really admired her works. This time around, she ventured on a new genre and came up with this delicious fantasy tale that is totally a bomb.

The story focuses on the heroine Princess Saieke El Shyokara, the sole heir of Boreas which is also known as Kingdom of Winds and Mountains. Out of seven kingdoms of Amagarie, Boreas is the one that is most abundant when it comes to natural and essential resources– which made it become a target to most of the kingdoms. One who was destined to marry the tyrant King Ajali Haddin from the Kingdom of Nuria, Saieke has been meaning to break her engagement to him. Unfortunately, her parents fully decided her fate– which led her to flee. She eventually landed into the comfort of The Darkage— a vicious, cruel kingdom led by Gidon. There, she met the dark and mysterious Drac El Ryn who became the man she eventually fell in love with.

What I love about this book is the incredible world building. Stacy Reid was able to deliver an intense plot that is enriched with magnificent action scenes. I thought the concept was amazing, too. The use of chakra as a form of magical element and the fact that Saieke has the ability to control water and wind– it’s something spectacular and refreshing. And what I also love is how the author built a heroine that is strong and passionate at the same time.

The male character Drac was also one interesting character. He totally swooned me the first time he was introduced. He aired such mystery and masculine qualities. Not to mention the fact that he has that beast in him that gave him that bad, cruel side. The romance is also one of this book’s greatest strengths. All those details– Totaly sexy, enticing, and full of emotions!

“You are mine and only mine. There will never be another for me.

What I also notice about the book was how it turned out to be such a page-turner. I found myself fully engrossed to the story, thus making me feel like I’m actually there in Amagerie.

The only flaw I observed was the descriptions of the secondary characters. I thought they were not fully well defined. I wanted to know more about Thyon and Kamu. I thought they are remakrable characters here.

As a whole, Eternal Darkness is one captivating and exciting read. I definitely will watch out for the release of the second installment!

Rating: 5 Stars

Buy this book at

READ ALL MY REVIEWS HERE

signature ok

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

