Review: Twist Me by Anna Zaires

Twist Me (Twist Me, #1)

Twist Me
(Twist Me #1)
Author: Anna Zaires
Publisher: Mozaika Publications
Publication: January 29, 2014
Genre: Dark, New Adult, Adult, Erotica, Romance, BDSM, Contemporary
My Rating:

2 stars new

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

Synopsis new

***New Adult Dark Erotic Novel***

Kidnapped. Taken to a private island.

I never thought this could happen to me. I never imagined one chance meeting on the eve of my eighteenth birthday could change my life so completely.

Now I belong to him. To Julian. To a man who is as ruthless as he is beautiful – a man whose touch makes me burn. A man whose tenderness I find more devastating than his cruelty.

My captor is an enigma. I don’t know who he is or why he took me. There is a darkness inside him – a darkness that scares me even as it draws me in.

My name is Nora Leston, and this is my story.

WARNING: This is NOT a traditional romance. It contains disturbing subject matter, including themes of questionable consent and Stockholm Syndrome, as well as graphic sexual content. This is a work of fiction intended for a mature, 18+ audience only. The author neither endorses nor condones this type of behavior.

my thoughts new

I see a great potential in this book, but it fell completely flat to me. I think I could have liked it if I haven’t read Captive in the Dark. I couldn’t blame myself though, because this book was too tame and a bit boring as well. The characters were also dull. I had trouble connecting to either Nora and Julian.

Nora’s character isn’t interesting. She’s too plain and she constantly whines about her situation but in the end, she submits to Julian easily. I was also bothered about the fact that she was more concerned about her college crush Jake than her family members who are crazy worried about her disappearance.

Julian is also not an interesting character. Although he was described as someone that exudes perfection (rich, handsome, masculine, very powerful), I wasn’t drawn into him and I didn’t swoon at all. He’s also too gentle with Nora and I think I don’t like it because, aren’t captors supposed to be a bit brutal and sadistic? In this book, the captor treats her captive like a princess. He dresses her well, makes sure she eats good foods, etc. Where’s the thrill in that? The romantic and the sex scenes were also not that engaging. It sounded too cheesy which ultimately became a meh.

Sad to say, I wasn’t able to feel the captivity theme of the book. There was no thrill and I didn’t feel the goosebumps I’m supposed to feel. It was too soft for a dark themed book.

Rating:

2 stars new

Buy this book at

READ ALL MY REVIEWS HERE

signature ok

Leave a Reply

