Pages of Pearl

Book Reviews, Book Recommendations, and Whatnots

Review: Ruin by Rachel Van Dyken

Ruin (Ruin, #1)

Ruin
(Ruin #1)
Author: Rachel Van Dyken
Publisher: Rachel Van Dyken
Publication: August 10, 2013
Genre: New Adult, Romance, Contemporary
My Rating:

three stars

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

I’m not your typical girl. I’ve been running away from the memories that haunt me for so long that depression has become my only comfort. I was content in the darkness…until Wes Michals offered to be my light.

I didn’t know that time wasn’t my ally — that every second that ticked past was one step closer to the end of something that was beginning to mean the end of myself. He tried to warn me. He promised me all he was able to offer–each moment as it came–but it would never be enough.

Sometimes when you think it’s the end, it’s only the beginning. Wes thought he could save me, but in giving me everything, he ruined me. Because after one kiss, one touch, I couldn’t–I wouldn’t ever be the same.

And from that moment on, his heartbeat became my own.

my thoughts

“You rescued me and I found my ruin. I’m ruined for you– and I won’t ever be the same.”

This was just an okay book. It wasn’t that great, but it wasn’t crazy bad either. What I love about this book was Weston. He’s one of the best male leads I’ve encountered in a New Adult book. He actually reminds me of Cam from Wait for You. Anyways, I really love characters with a great sense of humor. Kiersten was also a great character. She wasn’t exactly the most likable of people to read about at first, but I was glad that I quickly warmed up to her. I love her enthusiasm to step away from her nightmares and grief over her parent’s death.

The book mainly focuses on illness, grief, hope, and love. It was not 100% emotionally-packed because there was humor in it which made the book a light read, so don’t expect it to really tear your hearts like what some illnesses and death books do. The main concerns I have with this book were 1.) the insta-love, 2.) the un-original concept, and 3.) some clichés. The romance was good and it was sweet, but majority of it didn’t grab me at all.

Otherwise, the story was still a nice piece of fiction. It has life lessons to teach you and it also inspires you to never give up and continue to fight no matter how hard life takes you at some point.

“Sometimes when we think God has written The End, what He really means is The Beginning.”

Rating: 3 Stars

Buy this book at

READ ALL MY REVIEWS HERE

signature ok

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Review: Ruin by Rachel Van Dyken

  1. Nice review! ❤
    I don't know if I'd like it, though (I'm not a big fan of insta-love :/ ) but maybe I've to try it 🙂 . Could you ignore the insta-love and the clichés or they were in almost every page?

  2. anissareads on said:

    Hi Pearl!
    This book seems alright, although I hate insta-love. Great review and nice blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

