Review: Ascend by Amanda Hocking

 Ascend (Trylle, #3)

Ascend
(Trylle #3)
Author: Amanda Hocking
Publisher: Tor
Publication: April 26, 2012
Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult, Paranormal, Romance
My Rating:

4 stars new

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

Synopsis new

Wendy Everly can barely remember what it was like to feel like a normal girl. She’d wished for her life to be different but everything is so much more complicated than she’d expected. And she certainly hadn’t dreamt she’d be getting married at 18 to man she didn’t love – all for the sake of duty.

my thoughts new

Ascend by Amanda Hocking

“Don’t act on everything your heart says, but make sure you listen to it. Sometimes your heart is right.”

Well, where should I start? This book… This series… *cries with happy tears

description

One of my biggest problems in reading a final book of the series is the separation anxiety that I always get. With this book, I found myself experiencing the same. It’s hard to let go of a series that basically makes you feel attached to the story, the characters, and its world.

Ascend is another one of those series-enders that basically make you feel happy and sad at the same time because of its unforgettable closure. I love how the series ended in a sweet and satisfying appeal.

So much had happened in this book. Wendy‘s character became more developed. She became more responsible, strong, and independent. Same goes with the supporting characters — especially Loki, Tove, Finn, Willa, and the rest of the gang.

What made this book a remarkable one was theunpredictability. My oh my, the romance’s plot twist really surprised me! I was like, ‘WOW, am I really reading what I’m reading???” Because OMG, MY SHIP IS SAILING SO BEAUTIFULLY and it’s FOR REAL!!

description

I practically swooned! I won’t be mentioning who Wendy ended up with because it’s a huge spoiler but OMG, the romance really got me in my feels!!!

“I don’t think I’ve ever really felt like I had a home before. Not until I met you.”

What just stopped me from rating it a perfect 5 was the action scenes. As a final book of the series, the action should be intense and extremely boundless — scenes that will wow you and give you goosebumps. But in this book, the action scenes were kind of lame and they were just basically heard from the characters and were not really seen. I was expecting really mind-blowing action scenes where supernatural powers are exhibited. There was none. 😦

But all in all, this book made a really great ending, emotion-wise. I love the romance, the characters, and the satisfcation I got after reading this. Trylle trilogy is one of the loveliest YA fantasy series I’ve ever come across!

description

Rating: 4 Stars

Buy this book at

READ ALL MY REVIEWS HERE

xo pearl

Leave a Reply

