Pages of Pearl

Book Reviews, Book Recommendations, and Whatnots

Review: With This Heart by R.S. Grey

With This Heart

With This Heart
Author: R.S. Grey
Publisher: Createspace
Publication: April 6, 2014
Genre: New Adult, Romance, Contemporary
My Rating:

description

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

Synopsis new

If someone had told me a year ago that I was about to fall in love, go on an epic road trip, ride a Triceratops, sing on a bar, and lose my virginity, I would have assumed they were on drugs.

Well, that is, until I met Beckham.

Beck was mostly to blame for my recklessness. Gorgeous, clever, undeniably charming Beck barreled into my life as if it were his mission to make sure I never took living for granted. He showed me that there were no boundaries, rules were for the spineless, and a kiss was supposed to happen when I least expected.

Beck was the plot twist that took me by surprise. Two months before I met him, death was knocking at my door. I’d all but given up my last scrap of hope when suddenly, I was given a second chance at life. This time around, I wasn’t going to let it slip through my fingers.

We set out on a road trip with nothing to lose and no guarantees of tomorrow.

Our road trip was about young, reckless love.

The kind of love that burns bright.

The kind of love that no road-map could bring me back from.

**Recommended for ages 17+ due to language and sexual situations.**

my thoughts new

With This Heart by R.S. Grey

“Love will make you reckless. It can drag out parts of you that common sense and fear usually keep hidden away. Because love is selfless and selfish.”

Lately I’ve been reading such great contemporaries and I wanna thank the book gods for leading me to the right books. This novel is one of them! And what a journey!

description

With This Heart made me fall in love all over again. It’s such a sweet, refreshing, and captivating read. I’ve never read any R.S. Grey‘s work prior to this and my first impression was, she writes beautifully and she plots her story uniquely.

The book starts when Abby, a 19 year-old heart transpant recipient, met the gorgeous Beck at a funeral home. (Yes, that’s the place where they first met.) Sounds so creepy and not so romantic, but actually, the chemistry already became invisible the moment they met there. They immediately had the connection which eventually led them to a road trip together. Their journey, which was all kinds of sweet, became a very unforgettable event of their lives as they got to know more about each other, became bolder, and discovered everything that the world has to offer.

As a person who easily gets hooked with light and cheesy romance, this book definitely sold me. It gave me the sweet escape feel that I haven’t felt in a long while. It was like watching a mushy romantic film where you just find yourself smiling and getting all ooey and gooey on the inside.

All throughout the story I was also struck by how adorable the characters are. Abby showed up as a weak character but I’ve seen her development as the story continued. She had the inferiority complex in the beginning because of her condition and she had this trouble of facing the future and the opportunities that are laid in her hands, but later on she became a remarkable and matured character thanks to Beck who pulled her out of her shell and made her learn to face the world with so much thrill and adventure. The romance, on the other hand, was also delivered naturally.

The book was also laced with humor and smart and witty dialogues between the characters and at times I also found myself being carried away by the emotions delivered by them. And when it comes to its ending– it totally made me smile because it was cute. Yes, it felt a little too cheesy but I found myself liking every bit of it.

Her hand wrapped around my fingers, tightening my hold on the tarnished locket. “I love you with this heart.” She tipped her head forward and pressed a kiss to my lips. Then she moved her hand and pointed to her scar, to the beating heart that lay beneath, “and with this heart.

This book is now shelved on my favorites.

Rating:

description

Buy this book at:

READ ALL MY REVIEWS HERE

xo pearl

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

