Review: Arsen: A Broken Love Story by Mia Asher

Arsen: A Broken Love Story

Arsen: A Broken Love Story
Author: Mia Asher
Publisher: Mia Asher
Publication: August 23, 2013
Genre: New Adult, Romance, Contemporary, Dark

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

One glance was all it took…

I’m a cheater.
I’m a liar.
My whole life is a mess.

I love a man.
No, I love two men…
I think.

One makes love to me. The other sets me on fire.
One is my rock. The other is my kryptonite.

I’m broken, lost, and disgusted with myself.

But I can’t stop. This is my story.
My broken love story.

I’ve fallen in love with another man. But can you love two men at the same time? Because I think I do.

I AM A COMPLETE MESS RIGHT NOW. My emotions have never been so conflicted. What did this book do to me?

description

This is the kind of book that I should not have loved, yet I ended up thoroughly appreciating it just because… the ending!

I have to give the author Mia Asher a lot of credit for giving me all kinds of emotions all throughout the book. This book is clearly WRONG when it comes to its concept which is CHEATING but quite honestly, after reading it, I’ve realized that behind the lies, the deception, and the betrayal Cathy did to her husband, the book gave a very powerful and overriding message to everyone. That indeed, doing these things will not only destroy your relationship with your partner, but it will also destroy you as a person.

The story is all about the perfect married couple Cathy and Ben. They have the marriage everyone is dreaming of. Ben loves Cathy completely and wholeheartedly. And even when Cathy had so many miscarriages all throughout their marriage, he was still the same devoted husband. However, Cathy slowly became depressed when the third baby became a failure. Then Cathy met the gorgeous and attractive blonde Arsen who made her heart and body confused. When her next miscarriage happened, that’s when her entire world crumbled and she did the worst mistake of her life…

I’m done with doing the right thing. It’s at this moment, when I feel Arsen’s hot breath on my face and his arms wrapped around me, that I decide to throw everything away. Ben, my marriage, my future.

Cathy cheated and completely forgot her perfect husband and everything about their marriage just to be with Arsen who gave her all the pleasure a man could offer. Honestly, I HATED CATHY. And I still do. What she did was choose lust over love. I wanted to strangle her just to bring her back to her senses because she was such an ingrate, very selfish woman.

Arsen was the fuel needed to burn my marriage to the ground, but I was the one who held the match in my hands the entire time.

But what made this book sensational was the soul-wrenching emotions it gave me as a reader. I felt every word and every line deep down in my core. Mia Asher is an emotional genius! Her words are like daggers that when you read them, they will not just make you wince in pain but destroy your heart for what it’s worth.

description

description

The best part of this book was the ending. It was, in a way, a different kind of twist. It was not a very pleasant conclusion. It was bitter-sweet but it was worth it and I think that’s the best way to end this super sad, heart-breaking book. Kudos to Mia Asher for turning me into an emotional mess!

Arsen became the air I needed to breathe, but Ben was my lungs.

Rating:

Buy this book at:

READ ALL MY REVIEWS HERE

Leave a Reply

