Pages of Pearl

Book Reviews, Book Recommendations, and Whatnots

Review: Bitter Sweet Love by R.C. Stephens

Bitter Sweet Love (Twisted, #1)

Bitter Sweet Love
(Twisted #1)
Author: R.C. Stephens
Publisher: CreateSpace
Publication: January 18, 2015
Genre: Romance, New Adult, Contemporary
My Rating:

3 stars new

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

Synopsis new

After enduring an abusive childhood and having her heart broken by the only boy she trusts, Alexis White vows to never let anyone hurt her again. She’s left her troubled past behind and starts a new life at college. For the past seven years, her social calendar has been filled with frat parties, drinking, and meaningless sexual hook-ups. Until one night she unexpectedly gets saved by a tall, dark, and handsome French foreigner, Luc Blanchard. He’s charming, sophisticated, and very interested in Lexi, who has presented herself as a challenge when she tells him relationships aren’t her thing.

She finds herself sucked in by his own intriguing past. But everything changes when Dylan Priestley, the gorgeous boy who broke her heart and shattered her faith in friendship and love, suddenly shows up in her life again while back home on a visit. Dylan doesn’t hide his feelings for Lexi, but she can’t forgive or forget being betrayed by the one person she ever truly loved.

Despite the pain Dylan’s caused her, Lexi is once again drawn to the blue-eyed-boy-next-door. Will Lexi choose the man who seems perfect but hides a dark side or the boy who smashed her heart into pieces so many years ago?

Warning: This book ends in a cliffhanger. This is book one of a trilogy. Release dates will be held close together.

my thoughts new

I can’t say I enjoyed this book much, but I admit it’s one unique story that deals with abuse and violence. When I read its synopsis, my expectations were a bit different. I thought the book was a typical NA that I usually encounter, but I was mislead because when I read the first few chapters, everything felt extreme and strange.

Alexis White is a product of childhood abuse. Her mother used to beat her while she protected her sister Ashley. She grew up with a trauma that I myself couldn’t even imagine. Growing up, she had Dylan with her as her best frined and a person who comforted her. Their friendship turned to romance, which, in the end, made her heart broken. When she went to college, she pursued law and took care of her sister. However, she still wasn’t able to move on from her traumatic past. To be able to forget her heartache and her family issues, she involved herself with casual sex with random guys she met in parties together with her bestfriend Anna. Then everything changed when she met the beguiling and mysterious French man named Luc who made her mind confused whether she likes him or whether she’s still in love with her childhood love, Dylan.

The writing style of the author was good, but as I’ve read the book, I thought there was something that’s missing to make me completely fall into it. The dialogues seem off. And my biggest problem with this book? The main character. I don’t think I like the heroine– Alexis. She is supposed to become a strong character after everything she’s been through, but what did I get? I couldn’t remember a single moment where I didn’t get frustrated with her. She always makes bad and even worst decisions that led her to trouble. Yes, I understand she came from a very abusive mother, but her way of ‘moving on’ was so WRONG. More so, her character didn’t even improve until the very end of the book.

The plot, on the other hand, was messed up, but I admire how the author gave effort to make the reader want to continue reading the story and not DNF it. Throughout the book, I found myself wanting to know how it ends and what will become of Alexis, Luc, and Dylan. I also found myself dumbstruck because everything was full of WTF moments. As for its ending, well.. it was a big CLIFFHANGER and it left me with questions that only the next book can respond.

As a whole, it was a good and decent book. It didn’t really stand out from other romance books that tackle violence and abuse, but it’s still worth the read– despite the imperfections.

(I received a free copy of this book from the author R.C. Stephens in exchange for an honest review.)

Rating:

3 stars new

Buy this book at:

READ ALL MY REVIEWS HERE

xo pearl

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

