Review: Be with Me by Jennifer L. Armentrout

  Be with Me (Wait for You, #2)

Be With Me
(Wait for You #2)
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Published: February 4, 2014
Genre: Romance, New Adult, Contemporary
My Rating:

3 stars new

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

Synopsis new

Teresa Hamilton is having a rough year—she’s in love with her big brother’s best friend, but he hasn’t spoken to her since they shared a truly amazing, mind-blowing, change-your-life kiss. She got out of a terrible relationship. And now an injury is threatening to end her dance career for good. It’s time for Plan B – college. And maybe a chance to convince Jase that what they have together is real.

Jase Winstead has a huge secret that he’s not telling anyone. Especially not his best friend’s incredibly beautiful sister. Even though he and Teresa shared the hottest kiss of his life, he knows that his responsibilities must take priority. He certainly doesn’t have time for a relationship. But it doesn’t help that all he can think about kissing the one girl who could ruin everything for him.

As they’re thrown together more and more, Jase and Tess can’t keep denying their feelings for each other. But a familiar danger looms and tragedy strikes. As the campus recovers, the star-crossed couple must decide what they’re willing to risk to be together, and what they’re willing to lose if they’re not…

my thoughts new

Be with Me by J Lynn

It’s always a pleasure to read Jennifer Armentrout‘s books. Her works are simply amazing and are filled with lots of interesting and swoony characters boys. She simply has that writing style that makes everything in the book delightful. I wasn’t able to read more books written by her during the past few months after reading White Hot Kiss and now that I’ve read this novel, I felt refreshed in a way.

Be with Me is quite an enjoyable, guilty-pleasure, New Adult book. It’s the second book in the Wait for You series. This time around, we get to discover Jase and Tess’s story. Jase is Cam’s (from Wait for You) best friend while Teresa is Cam’s sister. Their story started off when Tess was sixteen and they kissed accidentally which made the tension between them become more intense as the years went by. Now Teresa is an 18 year old college girl and is trying to move on from her experience with her abusive ex-boyfriend. And Jase, is Jase. A seriously intense, hottie-mc-hotters frat guy who, unfortunately carries some heavy, emotional baggage with him. They meet again because they’re now attending the same college and also shares the same class in a particular subject.

I find their love story sweet and emotionally driven. At times, I even find myself pausing for a while because I just have to feel all the feels. There’s certainly chemistry between Jase and Tess and I also find their push and pull relationship so cute.

However, I still feel like I love the first book even better than this. Be with Me is quite different compared to Wait for You because Be With Me seems a bit heavier and it’s overloaded with too many conflicts and dramas– which I think, is a major drawback. I love dramas and angst because those are the qualities that made me feel drawn to New Adult books but this book– there was just too much of it! Both the main characters carry heavy issues that I guess, will never be resolved in just one book. Aside from that, there were also serious issues carried by the secondary characters (Debbie and Erik) which is NOT at all necessary. C’mon, why don’t we just focus on Jase and Tess alone? They’re already having so many problems and yet, there are nuisances around them which make the overall story even more difficult to take. My emotions are all over the place! It could have been better if the story just focused on the main characters alone. Also, I think the story will be much more beautiful if all the dramas and the conflicts were less overwhelming, because too much of everything isn’t good.

In spite of my issues with this book, however, I can say that I still enjoyed it. The romantic scenes between Jase and Tess are sweet and hot. They’re definitely one those book couples that make me smile and feel awed just because. 🙂

Rating:

3 stars new

Buy this book at:

READ ALL MY REVIEWS HERE

xo pearl

6 thoughts on “Review: Be with Me by Jennifer L. Armentrout

  1. Ahhh, same thoughts for this one! I just recently reviewed Be With Me as well and I guess it didn’t quite live up to my expectations! I rated Wait for You 5/5 stars but rated this one a 2.5/5! 😦 I agree that there was just too much drama! I wanted to love Jase and Tess but there’s something that holds me back!

    Like

  2. Enjoyed your review, Pearl! I just read Wait For You last summer/fall and loved it so, so much. I’m excited about continuing on with the series. I’m not surprised this one didn’t live up to the first book for you… because how could anything be better than CAM?! 🙂

    Tanya @ Girl Plus Books

    Like

Leave a Reply

