Review: Monster in His Eyes by J.M. Darhower

Monster in His Eyes (Monster in His Eyes, #1)

Monster in His Eyes
(Monster in His Eyes #1)
Author: J.M. Darhower
Publisher: J.M. Darhower
Published: April 27, 2014
Genre: Dark, Romance, New Adult, Adult, Contemporary
My Rating:

description

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

Synopsis new

Ignazio Vitale is not a good man.

I suspect it, the first time I see him, sense the air of danger that surrounds the man. He has a way of commanding attention, of taking control, of knowing what I’m thinking before I even do.

It’s alarming and alluring. It’s dark and deadly. It’s everything I’ve ever wanted but the last thing I truly need. Obsession.

It doesn’t take him long to draw me into his web, charming me into his bed and trapping me in his life, a life I know nothing about until it’s too late. He has secrets, secrets I can’t fathom, secrets that make it so I can’t walk away, no matter how much I beg him to let me go. I see it sometimes in his eyes, a darkness that’s both terrifying and thrilling. He’s a monster, wrapped up in a pretty package, and what I find when I unmask him changes everything.

I want to hate him.

Sometimes, I do.

But it doesn’t stop me from loving him, too.

my thoughts new

He’s a monster wrapped up in a pretty package. But I find myself wondering at a times like this, when I feel the distance between us, if maybe in his eyes, the real monster is me.

This book is so not what I’ve expected! Everything was totally mind-blowing and an absolute perfection! This is my first time ever to read a book written by J.M. Darhover and to say I am appalled is an understatement. The author’s writing style defines what a true dark-romantic storyteller should possess. I have to say, J.M. Darhover is an author to watch!

Monster in His Eyes radiates a completely dark, gripping, and mysterious love story about an eighteen year old college girl named Karissa Reed and an older, thirty-six year-old man named Ignazio “Naz” Vitale. The moment they met, Karissa was hooked by Naz. It was the virile, dark side of him added by his air of mystery, wealth, and authority that intrigued her and drew her to him. As their relationship progressed into a more intimate one, Karissa thought that she was already falling for him hard even if she didn’t have any idea of his true identity.

He’s a drug, an addictive one, and I’m not sure it’s a habit I can kick. All it took was one hit. One strong, euphoric hit and I was hooked.

This book is suspenseful and dark, raw and enigmatic. I enjoyed how it started out strong that it instantly caught my full attention and how chapter by chapter I found myself more drawn to the book and the mystery that it held. The main characters are wonderful and very unique, and with lovable flaws. Karissa is a sweet and passionate heroine while Naz is an enigmatic, sexy, strong man.

How can someone surrounded by an air of danger make me feel so downright safe?

The plot progression was a bit slow from the start up to the middle but that’s what made it all the more riveting because the anticipation of what’s about to come and be discovered thrilled me.

“When you love somebody, you want what’s best for them… but when you’re in love with them, you want them for yourself.”

The romance was absolutely good! There were lots of passionate and emotional scenes that can drive you crazy. It was also the main characters’ relationship development that made the book really remarkable.

“We keep the darkest part of us to ourselves until we think others are ready to see them.”

description

My Prince Charming turned out to be the villain of my fairy tale…

As a whole, THIS BOOK DID ITS JOB. I look forward to reading its sequel soon! 🙂

“I’m not a good man, Karissa, and I will never be. So don’t think you can fix me, or that I’ll ever change, because I won’t. I can’t.”

 

Rating:

description

Buy this book at:

READ ALL MY REVIEWS HERE

xo pearl

4 thoughts on “Review: Monster in His Eyes by J.M. Darhower

Leave a Reply

