Review: City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare

City of Lost Souls (The Mortal Instruments, #5)

City of Lost Souls
(The Mortal Instruments #5)
Author: Cassandra Clare
Publisher: Walker Books
Published: July 2, 2015
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance
My Rating:

4 stars new

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

Synopsis new

The New York Times bestselling Mortal Instruments continues—and so do the thrills and danger for Jace, Clary, and Simon.

What price is too high to pay, even for love? When Jace and Clary meet again, Clary is horrified to discover that the demon Lilith’s magic has bound her beloved Jace together with her evil brother Sebastian, and that Jace has become a servant of evil. The Clave is out to destroy Sebastian, but there is no way to harm one boy without destroying the other. As Alec, Magnus, Simon, and Isabelle wheedle and bargain with Seelies, demons, and the merciless Iron Sisters to try to save Jace, Clary plays a dangerous game of her own. The price of losing is not just her own life, but Jace’s soul. She’s willing to do anything for Jace, but can she still trust him? Or is he truly lost?

Love. Blood. Betrayal. Revenge. Darkness threatens to claim the Shadowhunters in the harrowing fifth book of the Mortal Instruments series.

my thoughts new

The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare

Cassandra Clare did a wonderful job once again!

City of Lost Souls, the fifth book of The Mortal Instruments series, picks up where City of Fallen Angels left off. I don’t want to give anything away by describing the things that have happened here, but the series already becomes more and more interesting. This sequel is actually a much better response compared to the City of Fallen Angels because all the events here were pretty much powerful and more remarkable.

I love how it started off as a bang!, eventually giving a slow-burn feels when the Shadowhunters were trying to figure out how they can come up with a solution to the dilemma, and ending up with a great and action-packed resolve. Although all throughout the book I must admit that I was really getting frustrated especially because of how badly things were turning for Jace. I mean, c’mon, why does Cassandra Clare keep torturing Jace and making him suffer all the time? It’s fricking unfair!

The best part of this book is SIMON. My boy always saves the day! He played a great part here and I think this is the book where he really shines best! When it comes to Clary, her character improved here (although I prefer her character development in City of Glass) but still, I like how bold she was here and how she resorted to critical-thinking. Alec and Magnus’ relationship here was tested big time and I don’t know what to feel about what happened to them here. As for Isabelle, once again this chick astounded me. As usual, she’s a fierce, in-your-face character and that’s what I loved about her! Maia and Jordan’s relationship was also highlighted here. I love the sweet reunion! And of course,Sebastian . Blimey, I am not usually a fan of villains but it’s so ironic how I fangirled over a bad guy all throughout the book!

The action scenes were great and although it happened at the final chapters, they still didn’t fail to bring out the adrenaline rush. The ending, on the other hand, was a blast and was well-executed. It had a surprise factor that will leave you wanting for more. All in all, it was a great come back. Cassandra Clare writes beautifully, but then I have always thought so! This book is really a world I could get lost in!

Rating:

4 stars new

(I’ve recently did a reread on books 1-4 of this series. Check out my mini reviews here:

Buy this book at:

READ ALL MY REVIEWS HERE

xo pearl

 

6 thoughts on “Review: City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare

  1. I hope the tv adaptation doesn’t get cancelled before they get to City of Lost Souls :/ I want to see who would play Sebastian.

    Like

Leave a Reply

