Pages of Pearl

Book Reviews, Book Recommendations, and Whatnots

Review: The Distance Between Us by Kasie West

The Distance Between Us

The Distance Between Us
Author: Kasie West
Publisher: Harper Teen
Published: July 2, 2013
Genre: Romance, Young Adult Adult, Contemporary
My Rating:

2 stars new

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

Synopsis new

Seventeen-year-old Caymen Meyers studies the rich like her own personal science experiment, and after years of observation she’s pretty sure they’re only good for one thing—spending money on useless stuff, like the porcelain dolls in her mother’s shop.

So when Xander Spence walks into the store to pick up a doll for his grandmother, it only takes one glance for Caymen to figure out he’s oozing rich. Despite his charming ways and that he’s one of the first people who actually gets her, she’s smart enough to know his interest won’t last. Because if there’s one thing she’s learned from her mother’s warnings, it’s that the rich have a short attention span. But Xander keeps coming around, despite her best efforts to scare him off. And much to her dismay, she’s beginning to enjoy his company.

She knows her mom can’t find out—she wouldn’t approve. She’d much rather Caymen hang out with the local rocker who hasn’t been raised by money. But just when Xander’s attention and loyalty are about to convince Caymen that being rich isn’t a character flaw, she finds out that money is a much bigger part of their relationship than she’d ever realized. And that Xander’s not the only one she should’ve been worried about.

my thoughts new

book

“Feelings can be the most costly thing in the universe.”

The cover and the premise of this book somewhat deceived me. Ha! Yes, it was cute and adorable. Funny, even. But that’s not just about it. My expectations were different.

Caymen Meyers is a teenage girl who works for her mom’s doll store. One day a rich and cute guy named Xander Spence comes over to their store to buy a doll for her grandma. Because he obviously has the air of wealth, Caymen sees him as just another one of those spoiled, rich kids who treat poor people differently. Which turns out wrong. As they begin to form friendship, Caymen slowly warms up to him and realizes that he’s completely different from what she expected to be like.

What I loved about this book was the humor. Nothing else. The rest was a let-down. First, I really thought Caymen was a likeable character but she’s not. She’s hilarious but her sarcasm and dry humor are a total turn-off. Aside from that, I was also a bit bothered by the way she perceives her family’s social and financial status. She keeps pointing out that they are poor but if we take a closer look, they’re actually average because they can pay the bills, they can eat three (or more times) a day, AND they even have a business for chrissake! In a way, it was so lame and pathetic to make it a big deal and to even view the rich people as haughty and superior.

My huge problem in this book was also the romantic aspect. I couldn’t find myself swooning over the characters. Their interactions seem pointless and insignificant. Also, while I loved Xander’s character, I find him unbeliveable. Seriously, he’s too rich to be true! And whoa, a guy who owns hundreds of hotels and who is often featured in gossip magazines would be interested with a plain girl? Isn’t it too cliche and Cinderella-ish? In my opinion.

So, yes. It didn’t work out for me. Maybe if I read this book years ago when I was still in my teenage years, I would’ve appreciated it, because why not? It’s cuteness overload! But then stories like these rarely amaze me these days, so yeah.

Rating:

description

Buy this book at:

READ ALL MY REVIEWS HERE

xo pearl

 

 

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Review: The Distance Between Us by Kasie West

  1. I love your honest reviews Pearl! I almost bought this book several times because of the cute cover but now I’ll be able to resist its pretty face. I doubt I would have enjoyed this book either xD Hope you enjoy your next read better!

    • Thank you, Cherry! 🙂 It was such a bummer. Haha! I really thought I would like it given the fact that it gathers positive reviews and well, the cover is really cute. But sometimes expectations can really put you down. Lol. Thanks again for your kind words! 🙂 🙂

      • Anytime (: I’m surprised too, I’ve seen it on so many people’s feeds and they all seemed to love it xD I guess everyone just has different tastes lol

  2. Aw, sorry to hear this one was such a letdown, Pearl. I read it a couple years ago and thought it was okay but nothing more. I was disappointed because contemporary is my favorite genre but I just didn’t connect with Caymen at all – and didn’t even like her all that much. I liked Xander much better. Caymen had such a chop on her shoulder about money and it was like she instantly disliked anyone with money… just because they had money. So judgmental!

    Tanya @ Girl Plus Books

  3. I couldn’t agree more with everything you said, Tanya. UGH. I hate character who are so judy and Caymen is really one of them. I really thought I would enjoy this book but well… sometimes popular books are not at all that impressive. Thanks for dropping by with your sweet comment, hunny. 🙂

  4. While I always have enjoyed your reviews, I have to disagree with part of this one even without having read the book: you can pay your bills and eat three meals a day, and still be poor. As someone who lives in a country where a large portion of the population lives below the poverty line except for the 1% and where people can pay their bills, and buy food, cause they just scrape buy. . . yeah, it’s totally possible to be poor and do these things. And it sucks royally so when we look down upon the rich it’s not cause they’re haughty and superior — it’s cause the majority make it harder for everyone below the poverty line by not paying the share of taxes they should pay, getting away with murder cause they can buy their way out of any laws they break, etc.

Leave a Reply

