Review: Take a Chance by Abbi Glines

Take a Chance (Chance, #1; Rosemary Beach #7)

Take a Chance
(Rosemary Beach #7)
Author: Abbi Glines
Publisher: Atria Books
Published: February 5, 2014
Genre: New Adult, Romance, Contemporary
My Rating:

3 stars new

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

Synopsis new

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Abbi Glines comes the story of Grant, the sexy playboy who first captured readers hearts in Fallen Too Far.

When Harlow Manning’s rocker father goes on tour, he sends her to Rosemary Beach, Florida, to live with her half-sister, Nan. The problem: Nan despises her. Harlow has to keep her head down if she wants to get through the next nine months, which seems easy enough. Until gorgeous Grant Carter walks out of Nan’s room in nothing but his boxer briefs.

Grant made a huge mistake getting involved with a girl with venom in her veins. He’d known about Nan’s reputation, but still he couldn’t resist her. Nothing makes him regret the fling more than meeting Harlow, who sends his pulse racing. Yet Harlow wants nothing to do with a guy who could fall for her wicked half-sister even if there are no strings between Grant and Nan. Grant is desperate to redeem himself in Harlow’s eyes, but did he ruin his chances before he even met her?

my thoughts new

The story of Grant Carter and Harlow Manning is one of my most anticipated stories in Rosemary Beach series. After reading it though, I have to say I’m kind of disappointed, although not totally. I did love Rush and Blaire’s story, as well as Woods and Della’s. But here… I sort of lost the connection.

The first part of the book was so good. I love the flashback scenarios and it totally made me root for the two together. Although there was a great hindrance in the person of Nan, and Grant was acting like a douchebag, still I thought it was worth everything. It went on so smoothly at first but when I got to the middle part and the rest of the chapters, things got messy. I didn’t quite like the events that took place, like ugh!

However, I adored Harlow’s character. She’s tough and patient and fully in control of her emotions. I loved the way she handled the bitchy Nan. Grant, on the other hand, improved in the later chapters and I was glad he became man enough to prove to Harlow that he’s worth the second chance. I also started to understand Nan here in this book. The anger and annoyance I felt for her during the previous books slowly diminished and I don’t know what she did with that. Lol.

There was also some family drama here that made me teary-eyed. Kiro and Emily. OMG. 😥 I was so speechless. I didn’t know there’s a kind of love as touching as theirs.

This book has its ups and downs and it may be my least favorite book of this series so far, but it was still a good read. I hope the next book will be better, because as always, Abbi Glines steals my heart with her beautiful and swoony stories.

Rating:

3 stars new

Buy this book at:

READ ALL MY REVIEWS HERE

xo pearl

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Review: Take a Chance by Abbi Glines

  1. Sorry to hear this has been your least favorite in the series but glad you still enjoyed it. I enjoyed Take a Chance well enough but it was the next book, One More Chance, that almost did me in. There is a scene at the end that had me *sobbing.* So emotional. I’m just totally hooked on the Rosemary Beach series. I’ll be reading #12 (Captain’s story) soon and I’m excited about that one. I can’t believe the last book is going to be about Nan. Ugh! Abbi swears that book will make everyone change their mind about Nan but I don’t see it happening. It would take a miracle for me to like Nan! LOL

    Tanya @ Girl Plus Books

    Like

    • Haha! IKR? Oh I am so looking forward to One More Chance.Heard it’s even better than Take a Chance. Also, I’m excited to read Tripp and Bethy’s story, as well as Mase’s… Aaaah this series is my undoing! Hahaha! About Nan, well, that makes the two of us. I HATE her and LOATHE her. Totally! It will also take a miracle for me to warm up to her. Haha!

      Like

Leave a Reply

