Review: More Than This by Jay McLean

More Than This (More Than, #1)

More Than This
(More Than #1)
Author: Jay McLean
Publisher: Jay McLean
Published: July 10, 2013
Genre: New Adult, Romance, Contemporary
My Rating:

1 star new

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

Synopsis new

When Mikayla imagined her prom night, she envisioned a fairy-tale evening full of romance. So when betrayal and tragedy come in quick succession, Mikayla is completely destroyed. Suddenly, everything she loved and everyone she relied on are tragically, irrevocably gone.

Jake, a handsome boy she just met, happens to witness her loss. With no one to turn to, Mikayla is forced to depend on this near stranger and his family, and he in turn is determined to take care of her. But Mikayla—thrust into adulthood with no one to guide her—is desperate to contain her grief and hide what she considers to be her weakness. Mikayla and Jake both want more, but despite their growing closeness and intense chemistry, she tries to keep her distance and protect her heart. As he does everything in his power to win her trust, Mikayla must choose between remaining alone and safe or letting love in.

my thoughts new

(SPOILERS ahead…)

It took ever ounce of control I had not to DNF this book. It’s one of the most unrealistic stories I’ve ever come across with!

Here are the reasons why I didn’t like it:

UNREALISTIC PLOT – This is a work of fiction, I know. But why make the whole thing unbelievable to the extreme?Mikayla found out one day that her boyfriend cheated on her with her best friend. That same day, she also met the gorgeous guy with a sexy Aussie accent named Jake and well, instantly felt attracted to him. THAT VERY SAME DAY, she experienced great loss when her family members were murdered. The next day, she became part of Jake’s family and Jake’s family offered her shelter even if she’s a complete stranger. Okay, I don’t mean to sound so selfish and insensitive here because the girl lost everything she had, but honestly, all shit happened in one day?

MIKAYLA – Mikayla is also one of those unbelievable heroines ever existed. She just lost everything but I couldn’t believe her way of coping. It didn’t take her a week to move on. She can even laugh with Jake’s friends and she even had time to entertain such unnecessary thoughts.. like how Jake is so damn sexy and how his accent always gets her and so forth and so on.

INSTA-LOVE – YES. Insta-love big time!!!

SIDE CHARACTERS – Why everyone that is close to Jake treats Mikayla like the way they treat an old-time friend confuses me. How did these people instantly warm up to her? They’ve just met her and then, just like that? So unbelievable!

TOO MUCH JEALOUSY AND INSECURITIES ALL OVER THE PLACE – Nuff said.

I cannot bring myself to recommend this book to others because it’s completely over-the-top . Much as I tried, I just couldn’t like this book. I was groaning inwardly and rolling my eyes at every scene. Ugh. Overall, this book wasn’t for me. I didn’t feel connected to everything.

Rating:

1 star new

Buy this book at:

READ ALL MY REVIEWS HERE

xo pearl

4 thoughts on “Review: More Than This by Jay McLean

  1. Oh no! I’m so sad to see a one star review of this one. I’ve had this on my Kindle for so long and have been looking forward to reading it. I have another friend who raved about it… and now a friend who almost DNF’d it. What to do, what to do…

    Like

Leave a Reply

