Pages of Pearl

Book Reviews, Book Recommendations, and Whatnots

Review: Whatever Life Throws at You by Julie Cross

Whatever Life Throws at You

Whatever Life Throws at You
Author: Julie Cross
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Published: October 7, 2014
Genre: Young Adult, New Adult, Romance, Contemporary, Drama
My Rating:

4 stars

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

Synopsis new

Life loves a good curveball…

Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas’s life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major leagues as the new pitching coach for the Kansas City Royals. Now she’s living in Missouri (too cold), attending an all-girls school (no boys), and navigating the strange world of professional sports. But Annie has dreams of her own—most of which involve placing first at every track meet…and one starring the Royals’ super-hot rookie pitcher.

But nineteen-year-old Jason Brody is completely, utterly, and totally off-limits. Besides, her dad would kill them both several times over. Not to mention Brody has something of a past, and his fan club is filled with C-cupped models, not smart-mouthed high school “brats” who can run the pants off every player on the team. Annie has enough on her plate without taking their friendship to the next level. The last thing she should be doing is falling in love.

But baseball isn’t just a game. It’s life. And sometimes, it can break your heart…

my thoughts new

This book makes me want to read more sports romance books. It’s a Young-Adult-slash-New-Adult read that is all kinds of cute and adorable. I enjoyed every bit of it not just because everything was swoony but because the book also depicts life lessons and narrates a touching family drama that will make your heart melt. It wasn’t just all about falling in love with someone but it also deals with family issues and morals.

When 17 year-old Annie Lucas met the gorgeous 19 year-old baseball pitcher Jason Brody, she didn’t expect herself to get infatuated with him after their series of encounters. Annie’s dad is Jason’s and his teammate’s new coach, and she’s just a high school student. Thus, falling in love with him meant she’s on her way towards forbidden love.

I had a very great time diving into this book. The connection I had with the cute characters, the beautiful settings, the drama aside from the romance, and the sporty theme was so unexpected. It didn’t fail to hold my attention and got me all wrapped up more than I thought I could. In the end, it put a smile on my face.

I especially felt connected to the characters. Both Annie and Jason Brody are likable characters. Annie is one responsible girl. Her attitude is typical 17 year-old but I like her because everything she says and does are on-point and the way she cares for her dad makes me want to hug her. Jason, on the other hand, is amazing. Apart from the fact that he’s seriously a hot athlete, he’s very different compared to some dudes in sports romance books that act like they own the world. Although Jason was every girl’s target in this book, still, he doesn’t abuse his popularity and play around women. He’s just… so perfect! And very ideal.

description

When it comes to the romantic aspect, well…. I really loved the fact that there was NO INSTA-LOVE. The romance was developed naturally. Annie and Jason’s chemistry here was off the charts as well. I was literally rooting for them all throughout the book!

What I also loved was how Julie Cross described the dynamics of baseball game here. I was impressed. I mean, I’m not a baseball fan and I only know a few basic rules about this sport but it felt like I was watching a real live baseball game because of the way the action in the field was being described. Bravo to that!!!

All in all, Whatever Life Throws at You is a great sports romance book that I will highly recommend to everyone. It’s quickly engaging and with likable characters and side characters (Lenny London included).

“Life is funny sometimes… the worst possible things can get you to the best possible places. If you just enjoy the game.”

Rating:

4 stars

Buy this book at:

READ ALL MY REVIEWS HERE

xo pearl

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Review: Whatever Life Throws at You by Julie Cross

  1. queennicaybooks on said:

    Glad you like this book so much Sis! Great review! :*

  2. Wonderful review, Pearl! I read one by Julie Cross called Third Degree about 2 years ago and enjoyed it so much. She’s great with new adult and I really fell for the characters. Because I liked that one so much I’ve been meaning to pick up Whatever Life Throws At You but just haven’t got to it yet. I’m so glad I saw your review because it’s a great reminder for me. I’m sure I’ll enjoy this one, too! 🙂

    • Thank you, Tanya! 🙂 Now I have to check that other Julie Cross book because I really loved this one and her writing! Thanks for bringing that book to my attention, hun. 🙂 And my, this book. *sigh. You definitely should get into this soon! :))

Leave a Reply

