Review: Love Me While I’m Gone by Diana T. Scott

Love Me While I'm Gone (Half of Me, #2)

Love Me While I’m Gone
(Half of Me #2)
Author: Diana T. Scott
Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
Published: December 1, 2015
Genre: Contemporary, Romance, New Adult
My Rating:

4 stars

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

Synopsis new

For a very long time, my biggest accomplishments had nothing to do with what I really wanted. When I decided to give up my mother’s dream and fight for my own, I never imagined choosing one dream could put me on the path of the one I never knew I wanted – meeting him. Collin. He quickly went from a friend to a companion, to soul mate, to heartbreak.

After he left Chicago, leaving me with nothing more than a text message, I only had one sane choice – to act like he never existed and go on with my life. A ghost can’t break your heart.

But now he’s back and he’s prepared to prove me otherwise. Is it possible to love someone against your will?

my thoughts new

“Under our tree, sitting on the same blanket as before, we laugh some more. Not because all our conversations are particularly funny but because… well, because we’re us.”

A quick, engaging, and cute contemporary read.

We’ve met Emily and Collin in the first book of this series, Our Demons, Best Friends but they were just side characters there. Here in this book, the story already revolves around them. And just like the previous book, I had a lot of fun!

Em and Collin, both medical residents, first met when Em was still in her first year residency in the hospital while Collin, that time, was her senior. What started as friendship soon became more than that as they developed feelings to each other while they hang out every day. When all of a sudden a dilemma came into Collin’s life which involved Sebastian, he left everything, including Em who felt like being jilted.

Sometimes you just need books like this– light and easy with enough cheese. You know, the kind of book that will hold your attention and make you feel captivated because of its overall cuteness.

What I loved about Love Me While I’m Gone was how it enable to make me smile most of the time. Even though the plotline of the book is a bit common and somewhat predictable, still, I enjoyed it a lot. The overall premise depicted drama, but the author made the whole story felt light and easy because of her engaging writing which was sprinkled with sense of humor and a little bit of angst.

The main characters Emily and Collin are also amazing. Emily knows exactly what she wants in her life and in spite of her mom’s advice to her to pursue a career in modelling, she took the path of medicine because it’s simply what she wants to practice. Collin also made me like his character for being so charming, sprightly, and a real gentleman.

What I also loved about this book and the entire series was how the characters basically live in the same little world and also make little cameos in each other’s books. Ava and Sebastian (main characters from the previous book), appeared here in a form of flashback and I loved it! It’s nice to look back on the sweet things that happened to my favorite characters. They were simply adorable!

All in all, this book was a beautiful companion book in this series. If you want some light romance reads where cute characters exist, you can read this book as a standalone. But I highly suggest you to read Our Demons, Best Friends as well because Ava and Sebastian’s love story is everything!

(I received a copy of this book from the author Diana T. Scott in exchange for an honest review.)

Rating:

4 stars

Buy this book at:

READ ALL MY REVIEWS HERE

xo pearl

3 thoughts on “Review: Love Me While I’m Gone by Diana T. Scott

Leave a Reply

