Review: Killing Sarai by J.A. Redmerski

Killing Sarai (In the Company of Killers, #1)

Killing Sarai
(In the Company of Killers #1)
Author: J.A. Redmerski
Publisher: J.A. Redmerski
Published: June 18, 2013
Genre: New Adult, Dark, Romance, Contemporary, Suspense
My Rating:

5 stars new

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

Synopsis new

From the author of the New York Times, USA Today & Wall Street Journal bestselling novel, THE EDGE OF NEVER, comes a story of passion and survival…

Sarai was only fourteen when her mother uprooted her to live in Mexico with a notorious drug lord. Over time she forgot what it was like to live a normal life, but she never let go of her hope to escape the compound where she has been held for the past nine years.

Victor is a cold-blooded assassin who, like Sarai, has known only death and violence since he was a young boy. When Victor arrives at the compound to collect details and payment for a hit, Sarai sees him as her only opportunity for escape. But things don’t go as planned and instead of finding transport back to Tucson, she finds herself free from one dangerous man and caught in the clutches of another.

While on the run, Victor strays from his primal nature as he succumbs to his conscience and resolves to help Sarai. As they grow closer, he finds himself willing to risk everything to keep her alive; even his relationship with his devoted brother and liaison, Niklas, who now like everyone else wants Sarai dead.

As Victor and Sarai slowly build a trust, the differences between them seem to lessen, and an unlikely attraction intensifies. But Victor’s brutal skills and experience may not be enough in the end to save her, as the power she unknowingly holds over him may ultimately be what gets her killed.

my thoughts new

I would like to thank my dear friend sis Bea for introducing this book to me. (Click her name to read her awesome review!) This book was a roller coaster experience for me!

I didn’t know that J.A. Redmerski could write something as strong and powerful as this book! Killing Sarai was overloaded with action and lots and lots of it!

In this book, we meet Sarai who grew up in a violent environment ever since her mom gave her to a Mexican drug lord named Javier when she was 14. For years, she became a slave to Javier and was trying to find ways to get out of that cruel world. When suddenly she met Victor who had a transaction with Javier, she decided to grab the opportunity to escape and ask for his help.

I’ve read the author’s previous works and although they’re also NA, they’re very different to this. Killing Sarai is dark and twisted with 95% violence on it. What I loved about this book was how it basically gripped me and had my attention all throughout. All the chapters and the scenes were terrifying and they gave me adrenaline rush. There were no dull moments because in every chapter, there seemed to be an upcoming surprise which was of course, delivered smoothly.

What even amazed me were the characters. Holy Moly. Victor is such a great male lead and everyone should meet this man! He’s such a perfect character for a dark novel. Strong, very dependable, and one who doesn’t fear anything… not even killing. Whenever he pulls such quick action stunts, I always find myself gasping and questioning, “How the heck did he do that?”

I also loved Sarai. I loved her character development when she became stronger each day: from being a scared and paranoid woman. She turned out to be a badass who no longer fears killing and being killed! There were scenes involving Sarai that made me clap my hands because damn, not all heroines can pull off those things!

I also didn’t expect myself to swoon when it comes to the romantic aspect of this book. The sexual tension between Victor and Sarai offered so much feels! It was HOT! I can’t even.

The ending was totally good and although it was sort of a cliffy, still it gave me goosebumps because of how promising it appealed to me. It made me want to instantly grab the second book which I’ll definitely be reading soon!

If you are comfortable with this kind of book, and if you are a fan of this author, I’m very certain you will enjoy it as much as I did. It was, as a whole, a very well-written and adrenaline-pulling dark contemporary romance book!

“In the end, you can only trust yourself.”

Rating:

5 stars new

Buy this book at:

READ ALL MY REVIEWS HERE

xo pearl

4 thoughts on “Review: Killing Sarai by J.A. Redmerski

  1. Awesome review, Pearl! This series has been on my TBR for so long. I even have the first 2 or 3 books sitting on my bookshelf. It’s great to see such a glowing review of the first book! I already know I enjoy Remerski’s writing so I’m excited to meet these characters.

    Like

Leave a Reply

