Pages of Pearl

Book Reviews, Book Recommendations, and Whatnots

Review: You Were Mine by Abbi Glines

You Were Mine (Rosemary Beach 9)

You Were Mine
(Rosemary Beach #9)
Author: Abbi Glines
Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
Published: December 2, 2014
Genre: New Adult, Romance, Contemporary
My Rating:

4

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

Synopsis new

From #1 “New York Times “bestselling author Abbi Glines comes a brand-new Rosemary Beach novel about Tripp Newark and his hidden romantic past with Bethy Lowry.

In the eyes of the wealthy playboys who frequent Kerrington Country Club in Rosemary Beach, Tripp Newark is a hero. Under pressure from his parents to become a lawyer and lead a conservative, upper-class life, Tripp disappeared from town five years ago to travel the world, forfeiting the opportunity to inherit millions. Yet few know what he was really running from…

Bethy Lowry was unraveling long before her boyfriend drowned in a riptide trying to save her after she’d had one too many drinks–again. A trailer park kid working as a cart girl among the wealthy patrons of Kerrington Country Club, Bethy has always been impressionable. But five years ago, before she earned her reputation as a hard-drinking, easy girl, she had spent a single summer with Tripp Newark that changed her life forever…

my thoughts new

IMG_3011

“With you, I want it all. If I get a taste of what it could be, I won’t ever want to let it go. I fell in love with you when I was sixteen, and that’s never changed. But trusting you with my heart again is different. With you, I need to know it’s forever.”

Bethy Lowry has always been one of those side-characters in the previous books of Rosemary Beach series that instantly got me. She was so strong and very likeable. What happened to her in Simple Perfection ruined me, though. That’s why when I knew that she was getting a story, I instantly felt hopeful for her happy ending.

This book gave that to me. I love Bethy and Tripp’s happy ending. Their history was vague in the previous books but it became clear here. I loved how these characters reunited in Rosemary Beach and eventually confronted each other about what happened in the past. Their story was bittersweet and heartbreaking, but I’m glad Abbi Glines was able to pull this one off.

I particularly loved Woods and Della’s beach wedding scene here and how everyone was present to celebrate their happiness. (view spoiler) As a whole, it was an emotional yet very romantic and unforgettable book. And as usual, I loved the setting. I think Rosemary Beach will forever be my fictional comfort zone. 🙂

 

Rating:

4

Buy this book at:

READ ALL MY REVIEWS HERE

xo pearl

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Review: You Were Mine by Abbi Glines

  1. Abbi glines is my favorite author and this book just brought on a whole new light to how we see Bethy

Leave a Reply

