Pages of Pearl

Book Reviews, Book Recommendations, and Whatnots

Review: Ladies Man by Katy Evans

Ladies Man (Manwhore, #3)

Ladies Man
(Manwhore #3)
Author: Katy Evans
Publisher: Katy Evans
Published: April 26, 2016
Genre: New Adult, Romance, Contemporary
My Rating:

5 stars new

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

Synopsis new

TAHOE ROTH.
Irreverent, cocky, playful and naughty.
He’s not the guy you date.
He’s the one night stand.
The one your mother warned you about.
The one your body craves.

You’d think the man who called me succulent would want to strip me down and spread me out on his bed—like he’s done with countless others.
But he passed on my offer….
Just like I’d once passed on his.
He’s wary, like I am.
He’s broken, like I am.
And everyone knows two broken parts can’t ever make a whole.
Tahoe and I are strictly friends.
So I distract myself with other men.
He doesn’t think my new man is good enough. This blond blue-eyed beast doesn’t think any man is—himself included.
But the more time we spend together, the more confused I feel.
I’m trying to open myself to love.
Yet I’m quickly realizing that the only man I want is Tahoe Roth.
The one man who will surely break my heart.

my thoughts new

“You’re like an insistent little trickle of water, soaking into every inch of my life.”

(I buddyread this book with my lovely sis Bea. Click her name to read her awesome review!)

I loved this book so much and right now I couldn’t even begin to form coherent thoughts. TAHOE ROTH. This guy. This sexy ladies’ man just got me with his “You’ve checked me so hard” line!

We’ve met Tahoe Roth and Gina Wylde in the first books of Manwhore series. Since Manwhore, Tahoe already hooked me because he was described as a sexy and cool rich playboy with a cocky grin and let me tell you, those qualities are my weakness, no matter how cliché they seem to be. I didn’t quite like Gina in the previous books, though, but in this book, this girl totally got me. Her character improved so well!

“But what is true for Tahoe Roth? He is the embodiment of sex. He also has a gentleman ingrained in his bones due to his southern upbringing. You can tell a lot about person by how they treat others, and he is playful but honest, and always himself.”

These two have this typical friends-to-lovers story that I found really sweet. To be honest, I didn’t quite like the prolonged sexual tension between them as the story progressed simply because of the way they continued to resist each other and hang the readers in the air. All throughout the 3/4 part of the book, I kept saying “Oh, c’mon, get it together already!”. My patience was really tested here lol and you can’t blame me because the chemistry of these characters are so evident you can’t help but root for them! But I was completely glad that the story picked up in the later chapters and finally made everything up! It was totally worth it, after all.

“I want to take off your lipstick so all you have is my mouth on you.”

The romance in this book was undeniably hot, passionate, and somewhat bittersweet. Just when I thought that everything was light, I realized that there were some parts that were a bit heavy and dramatic, too, like Tahoe’s painful past which was revealed in an unexpected way. I think that part was the main reason why I understood this casanova better.

“Love has no conscience. It doesn’t know right or wrong. It’s a feeling you can’t shake that penetrates your soul, and it cannot be broken.”

All in all, I did enjoy and swoon over this book. I guess the list of songs in the playlist which was mentioned also became an instrument for me to even love this book. Those songs were perfect! *sigh I NEED MORE BOOKS LIKE THIS!

Rating:

5 stars new

Buy this book at:

READ ALL MY REVIEWS HERE

xo pearl

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Review: Ladies Man by Katy Evans

  1. woo thanks for the review! its really nice xx

  2. oh Manwhore didn’t strike me that much, sadly! But I am excited for Tahoe & Gina!!! omg

    • OMG I’m sorry this didn’t work out for you, Allie 😦 BUT Tahoe and Gina’s story is good! I swooned so hard over them! 🙂 Hope you’ll enjoy it, Allie. 😀 *crosses fingers

Leave a Reply

