Review: Back To Us by Teresa Roman

Back To Us

Back To Us
Author: Teresa Roman
Publisher: Teresa Roman
Published: August 6, 2015
Genre: New Adult, Romance, Contemporary
My Rating:

4

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

Synopsis new

Abandoned by her parents at fourteen, Jessica knows what it means to struggle. She’s vowed that getting her degree is the only thing she has time for, until a summer internship brings Justin into her life.

But Justin has scars of his own. A tour of duty in Afghanistan has left him with wounds. A medical discharge from the Navy leaves Justin struggling to make sense of his new reality. Then he meets Jessica; but can the two of them leave their pain in the past and make a future together?

my thoughts new

IMG_4864

Back To Us is a story about two broken characters who started as strangers and who eventually became friends until they realized that they fell in love with each other. Things were not that easy for Justin and Jessica though, because these characters have inner battles they’re fighting and their issues were the main reason why getting into a relationship was difficult. Jessica’s parents abandoned her and her brother when she was 14 and since then, she has been living independently. Justin’s life, on the other hand, changed when he came back home with a broken soul after he experienced an accident in the military.

This book is not your typical love story with broken characters. It has something more than romance. It was emotionally-driven and it narrated true-to-life situations. I loved that it tackled family dilemmas and life after horrible accidents, too.

What made this book remarkable was the strength of the characters. Jessica awed me. She’s very dependent and tough and despite everything that happened to her, she didn’t lose hope.

“That’s what happened when your parents decided to dump you before you even started high school. Sink or swim, and I was one of the best swimmers I knew.”

And although Justin was vulnerable at the start (He constantly wallowed in self-pity), he developed in the later parts and decided to stand up on his own which made me teary-eyed.

It’s also quite amazing how Back To Us reminded me of the book Me Before You. You know, stories with physically and emotionally scarred heroes. :'((

When it comes to the ending, it was emotional and beautiful. I just wished that things between Jessica and her parents were settled. It could have been better if there was a resolution with her family in the end. As a whole, it was a great and a heartfelt read and full of life lessons, too. I loved the author’s writing which was simplistic and easy. I definitely recommend this book if you love emotional romance stories like Me Before You or Nicholas Sparks books. And oh, before you start wondering if it has a sad ending, nope. Your heart is safe. 🙂

(Thank you to the author Teresa Roman for sending me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review!)

Rating:

4

Buy this book at:

READ ALL MY REVIEWS HERE

xo pearl

2 thoughts on “Review: Back To Us by Teresa Roman

  1. I love the sound of this one, Pearl! I have such a soft spot for stories with a military edge, or a MC with a military background (my husband served in the Navy for 20 years). Justin sounds like a character I will genuinely feel for – and Jessica seems so strong and resilient. I’ll definitely be checking this one out.

    Like

    • Aww Tanya. 🙂 It’s nice to know that you’re a military wife. 🙂 I think you can relate to this book! This was a very emotional read for me and I hope you will like it when you decide to read it. 🙂 xoxo

      Like

Leave a comment