Review: One Week with the French Tycoon by Christy McKellen

One Week with the French Tycoon

One Week with the French Tycoon
Author: Christy McKellen
Publisher: Harlequin
Published: May 10, 2016
Genre: Adult, Romance, Contemporary
My Rating:

4

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

Synopsis new

From holiday…to happy-ever-after!

Indigo Hughes spends her life taking care of everyone else. But after she’s unceremoniously dumped, she finally puts herself first and books a holiday on the Amalfi Coast. Fine food, stunning views and time alone to heal her heart…bliss!

Instead, she’s thrown together with tycoon Julien Moreaux! He’s cynical, sexy and recently divorced—exactly the kind of man she should avoid. But big-hearted Indigo hopes to help Julien find his faith in love again—she just doesn’t expect to find her own happy-ever-after in his arms!

my thoughts new

IMG_5173

“It seemed incredible that it was only a week since he’d come storming into her life with his reluctant heroism and inimitable strength. But who you fell in love with wasn’t something you could control.  And she had fallen in love with him. Desperately and completely.”

It’s my second time to read a book written by Christy McKellen and I have to say that she doesn’t fail to make me swoon with her sweet, light, and easy-to-read books.

One Week with the French Tycoon is an adult romance book about two strangers who met in Italy. Londoner Indigo Hughes went to Italy to unwind and to somehow recover from her failed relationship. She didn’t expect to meet a gorgeous, brooding French tycoon at the hotel she was staying, though, and his name is Julien Moreaux. Like Indigo, Julien was also mending a broken heart or rather, a broken marriage. Fresh from a divorce, Julien didn’t plan to get attracted to Indigo and worse, to even consider a relationship with her.

description

I loved the way this book made me feel as though I was vacationing in a beautiful country. And wow, Italy! The details about the place made me want to experience it myself. This book is a great summer read and a perfect companion if you’re going out of town. There was just something in it that gave me a relaxing feel.

Plus, the beautifully rendered romance. The plot may sound a little cliché but hey, this is the kind of cliché that I will indulge willingly because the story gave good vibes and the characters felt real to me. I loved Indigo’s character, in particular. I can actually see myself in her. She’s the type of woman who doesn’t want to depend on other people, even if these people were her family. In fact, she stood up on her own when she experienced financial troubles. Julien is also a great and likeable character. He’s a real gentleman. I loved the way her cared for Indigo and offered help when she met dilemmas.

Overall, I enjoyed this book. I had fun reading Indigo and Julien’s adventure and their road to happiness. If you want some light reads with a clean romance, then this book is definitely the one you are looking for. 🙂

“I can’t change the way I am, Julien.”

“You don’t have to.”

(Thank you to the author Christy McKellen for sending me an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review!)

Rating:

4

Buy this book at:

READ ALL MY REVIEWS HERE

xo pearl

 

Leave a Reply

