Pages of Pearl

Book Reviews, Book Recommendations, and Whatnots

Review: Blu by J. Kahele


Blu (Violet Chain #3)

Blu
(Violet Chain #3)
Author: J. Kahele
Publisher: J. Kahele
Published: March 17, 2016
Genre: Romance, New Adult, Contemporary
My Rating:

4

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

Synopsis new

Pearl has lived under the hard hand of a vicious man for years and when she finally makes her escape, she is hit by a car and wakes up in the hospital. She doesn’t remember anything from the night before, except for the comforting touch, of a beautiful man named, Christopher Blu.

Blu learns that Pearls life has been a circle of degradation, hurt and pain and he wants so bad to help her through it, that it completely envelopes his life. He cares for her and there is a mutual attraction between the two. But he’s not sure if what he feels for her is real, or if it is just his compassion for a woman who has been so brutally scarred by her life.

This book is intended for mature audiences only.

my thoughts new

“She was the one, my broken little angel, the woman I wanted to spend the rest of my life putting back together, piece by piece.”

I had so much fun with this book just like how I enjoyed the previous books of Violet Chain series. It was a refreshing experience to get to know a new set of main protags. In this book we meet the heroine Pearl. (Yay! It actually felt so strange. I don’t think I’ve ever read a book with my name as a main character. However, I felt honored since the author said that she purposely chose my name to be the heroine’s. How cool is that!). We also meet the male lead Christopher Blu or simply known as Blu who happens to be Chain and David’s close friend.

These two characters met one night when David accidentally hit Pearl on a road while Blu was with him. After taking her to the nearest hospital, they found out that Pearl was simply a damsel in distress, one who escaped away from slavery. Now when Pearl woke up, Blu decided to take her to his home and offer her shelter since she has nowhere else to go.

This book was kind of different compared to the previous books because it simply had a dark side in it. Add the fact that it also had some action in the near-end which made me utterly speechless. The characters were amazing. Christopher Blu was a babe and Pearl was sweet and adorable. Also, Blu and his friends were squad goals! I enjoyed their little banters so much.

I could say that this book was a welcome distraction for me and distract me it did. There were funny and entertaining scenes. The plot was fairly credible and there was a fast pacing, too. Plus, I found a bit of an angst here which gave an emotional punch.

I just had a little concern when it comes to the build-up of trust between Pearl and Blu. It was too instant I wish it didn’t take a second for Pearl to trust him. It was kind of weird to trust someone stranger (just because she was attracted to him at first sight) and to never trust everyone else around her. In a way it was a little unbelievable.

Nevertheless, the sexy scenes were hot and the romance was definitely a winner. There was real chemistry between the characters and for me that’s the most important thing. As a whole, this book won me over. It was enticing and altogether a guilty-pleasure. I’ll be reading the next books for sure!

Fun Fact: My ex-boyfriend’s name is Christopher. I see what you did there, J. Kahele. *smirks

(A copy was provided by the author, J. Kahele, in exchange for an honest review.)

Rating:

4

Buy this book at:

READ ALL MY REVIEWS HERE

xo pearl

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

