Review: Idol by Kristen Callihan

Idol (VIP, #1)

Idol
(VIP #1)
Author: Kristen Callihan
Publisher: Kristen Callihan
Published: June 7, 2016
Genre: Romance, New Adult, Contemporary
My Rating:

3 Stars

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

Synopsis new

Libby

I found Killian drunk and sprawled out on my lawn like some lost prince. With the face of a god and the arrogance to match, the pest won’t leave. Sexy, charming, and just a little bit dirty, he’s slowly wearing me down, making me crave more.

He could be mine if I dare to claim him. Problem is, the world thinks he’s theirs. How do you keep an idol when everyone is intent on taking him away?

Killian

As lead singer for the biggest rock band in the world, I lived a life of dreams. It all fell apart with one fateful decision. Now everything is in shambles.

Until Liberty. She’s grouchy, a recluse—and kind of cute. Scratch that. When I get my hands on her, she is scorching hot and more addictive than all the fans who’ve screamed my name.

The world is clamoring for me to get back on stage, but I’m not willing to leave her. I’ve got to find a way to coax the hermit from her shell and keep her with me. Because, with Libby, everything has changed. Everything.

my thoughts new

“Killian James isn’t just an addiction, or a summer fling. He’s becoming my everything. And that is both exhilarating and terrifying.”

(I buddyread this book with my beautiful friend Rachmi. Click her name to read her thoughts. :))

Because of its glowing reviews, I wasn’t able to resist reading this book. They were right, it was a guilty-pleasure read. The moment I started reading it, I found myself really hooked because of the interesting characters who are both inclined to music. I also found the rock star thing irresistible.

Liberty “Libby” Bell‘s life changed when drunk and messy Rock God, six-foot tall idol Killian James bombarded her in her home in a small island of North Carolina. Despite her disgust for the stranger, Libby took care of him until he woke up sober. It was days after their series of interactions when she found out that Killian was the famous lead guitarist of the band Kill John and he happened to run away for a while to keep himself away from media and the public. It was also his way of coping after what happened to his band mate and best friend Jax. Libby and Killian soon became aware of their growing affection towards each other. They also found out that they have the same passion when it comes to music, and that Libby was after all, a woman of talent behind her laid-back lifestyle.

The book actually gave me butterflies in my stomach. Killian didn’t fail to hook me with his amazing personality. So much sexiness exuded in him! I loved the way he changed Libby’s perspectives toward life and how he was able to inspire her. Libby, on the other hand, had a great character development. She learned from her mistakes and quickly realized that it’s not that good to miss once-in-a-lifetime opportunities.

I loved the premise of the story and the tone of it as a whole. It’s my first time to have a taste of Kristen Callihan‘s book and I can say that her writing makes me feel things. However, I can’t give this book more than a few stars because the second half of the book bored me. The plot kind of went downhill because of the unnecessary scenes. I think it’s because the story already focused on the sex and no longer on the deep and emotional side. Also, I wished that the book just centered on Killian and Libby’s story and there were no side stories about the other band members’ dramas. Still it was a great and enjoyable book. It made me want to read more rock star themed romance stories! 🙂

Rating:

3 Stars

Buy this book at:

READ ALL MY REVIEWS HERE

xo pearl

Leave a Reply

