Review: Questing for a Dream by P.D. Workman

Questing for a Dream

Questing for a Dream
Author: P.D. Workman
Publisher: P.D. Workman
Published: September 25, 2015
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary
My Rating:

4

72603-add-to-goodreads-button

Synopsis new

“Brilliant Masterpiece”

Fans of Jodi Picoult and S.E. Hinton will love Questing for a Dream, award-winning author P.D. Workman’s compelling and poignant account of Native teen Nadie Laplante’s quest for meaning and purpose. This thought-provoking and eye-opening story of poverty, prejudice and addiction will inspire readers of all ages and remind them that they are not alone.
Nadie is a bright but rebellious teen growing up Manitoba Cree. Living in abject poverty, she tries to help care for the younger children in the band. Devastated by the drowning death of her little cousin and unable to overcome her grief, Nadie leaves the band.
How can she find her own place in a foreign world where she is abused and discriminated against, and for the first time in her life, completely alone?
By the author of the award-winning Ruby, Between the Cracks, this engaging and unforgettable story of Nadie’s journey to find a place in the world amidst heartache and hopelessness will inspire you to face your challenges with courage and become a happier and stronger person.

Praise for Questing for a Dream
“P.D. Workman’s skilled narrative of Nadie and her poignant journey to wholeness is a thoughtful exposé of shattered dreams and tragic youth sure to resonate with every reader.”
“An inspiring book which can encourage the reader to face the challenges in life’s journey and to accept the lessons that come as a result.”

Praise for P.D. Workman
“Every single one of [P.D. Workman’s] books has spoken to me in ways no one or almost anything else has. And I have found strength in the books I’ve read.”
“The way that P.D. Workman writes just flows amazingly and allows the reader to get really invested in a book.”

my thoughts new

IMG_5875

Questing for a Dream is a Young Adult contemporary book about Nadie, a teenage Native American Indian girl who lives in Manitoba Cree and is a member of the group called Nehiyaw. She’s responsible for taking care of the children in the band and she’s happy about it, until her beloved cousin Luyu died. She wasn’t able to move on from her grief which led her to “rebel” and find herself somewhere far away from her native land. When she arrived in Winnepeg, her view towards life changed. She started to dream about enjoying the city lights and the places that are different from her home. However, life wasn’t that good for her when she was away because she met people who took advantage of her vulnerable situation. She experienced abuse and racial discrimination.

This book was such an inspiration. P.D. Workman presented a very compelling and realistic story about how Native American Indians live their simple ways and how they view life in general. In this book I learned a lot about their culture. How they take care of their sick in a form of medicinal plants and herbs. They even have what they call the medicine woman who serves as their adviser and who talks about how spirits affect their health.

I especially loved the plot in this book. Things were very interesting in the beginning and it even became a lot more interesting in the second half of the book when Nadie went to Winnipeg and Calgary where she experienced real life. What happened to her– being abused in a form of drugs and being racially degraded, was cruel and horrible, but it happens in reality.

The author’s writing was so good. At first I thought this book would be a difficult read since I don’t normally read books with cultural substance but the way it was written in an engaging way made the experience enjoyable for me. It was fun to read Nadie’s journey and her self-realizations. I became intimately involved and sympathetic to her as she took decisions after decisions.

This book, in addition, also has its strength in weaving in life lessons. It made me realize that there’s always no place like home. If you live away from your home and your loved ones, one day you will still look back and dream of going back to where your heart belongs. As a whole, this book was a good read. It provides knowledge about other cultures and it’s something that portrays about living, enduring, and moving on. 🙂

(Thank you to the author P.D. Workman for sending me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review!)

Rating:

4

Buy this book at:

READ ALL MY REVIEWS HERE

xo pearl

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s